We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would definitely go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #184 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“would definitely go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

if you just want to see the sites and only have a base, this is the place for you. breakfast wasn't too fancy, but there are loads of places to top up. the free wifi is very handy too. a map is a must as all the streets look the same. i managed better in day 2.



  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Audra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Liverpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days/ nights late September.
Room was small, no wardrobe only a simple rail with 3 coat hangers.. not enough for someone who brings a lot clothes like myself (or any clothes at all!).. Bathroom was disappointing - basically a very small wet room with your own mop for when you have a shower.. Breakfast consisted of one egg, some bread, butter, jam and choc. sprinkles with tea or coffee..
Walls/ floors thin as I could hear the couple above up (also very squeaky beds). I will leave that at that with no further comment!..
Location however, was very good!! Walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go and such a nice walk.
Price was okay.
I would stay here again but only because of the good location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank lauurraax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Ww stayed at Hotel Va Onna for three nights and we really enjoyed our stay there! The location is just perfect: really close to all the touristy spots but slightly aside from the very busy area. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast was generous enough, although we would have appreciated some variety in the choice of jam

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Giulia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Room was as basic as it gets but perfect just to get some rest after walking all over Amsterdam. Room was Nice and clean. The only downside is the clock down the road that's chimes all night! But it's part of Amsterdam so I can't grumble as this is city is the next best thing to home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is by far the best thing about this hotel - right in the very charming Jordaan neighborhood, about a five minute walk from the Anne Frank House, but a solid half hour walk to Central Station, so if you have a lot of luggage you definitely need to take a taxi. My pet peeve is showers that aren't enclosed - I can't stand it when the whole bathroom floor gets wet - so I wouldn't be able to stay here more than a night or two, I would go crazy. Some things are just worth the extra money. There are also no shelves or hooks in the bathroom, so you have no place to hang towels or put your toiletries, except on the side of the very small pedestal sink. But it's really difficult to get a room with a private bath for less than 95 euro in this neighborhood, so ultimately you have to decide what you value more. The room itself, as others have mentioned, is very spartan, with a dorm room feel to it; there is no elevator so you better be sure that you can lug your suitcases up the stairs, the gentleman who checked us in made no offer to help us. The lobby and breakfast area is definitely more charming than the room, and includes two slices of toast each, a slice of ham and cheese each, and tea. You're not going to be stuffed, but it's something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesci99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#104 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,498 reviews
Boutique Hotel View
#60 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Boheme
#44 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing