We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My comment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel van Onna
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    357
    241
    63
    25
See reviews for
119
306
157
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Room was as basic as it gets but perfect just to get some rest after walking all over Amsterdam. Room was Nice and clean. The only downside is the clock down the road that's chimes all night! But it's part of Amsterdam so I can't grumble as this is city is the next best thing to home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is by far the best thing about this hotel - right in the very charming Jordaan neighborhood, about a five minute walk from the Anne Frank House, but a solid half hour walk to Central Station, so if you have a lot of luggage you definitely need to take a taxi. My pet peeve is showers that aren't enclosed - I can't stand it when the whole bathroom floor gets wet - so I wouldn't be able to stay here more than a night or two, I would go crazy. Some things are just worth the extra money. There are also no shelves or hooks in the bathroom, so you have no place to hang towels or put your toiletries, except on the side of the very small pedestal sink. But it's really difficult to get a room with a private bath for less than 95 euro in this neighborhood, so ultimately you have to decide what you value more. The room itself, as others have mentioned, is very spartan, with a dorm room feel to it; there is no elevator so you better be sure that you can lug your suitcases up the stairs, the gentleman who checked us in made no offer to help us. The lobby and breakfast area is definitely more charming than the room, and includes two slices of toast each, a slice of ham and cheese each, and tea. You're not going to be stuffed, but it's something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

CONS:

1. VERY NARROW WINDING STAIRS!!
2. MANY ANGLES IN THE ROOM & BATHROOM!! easy to hit your head!
3. 5% charge if pay w credit card!
4. sparse room, no wifi, no phone

PROS:
1. good location
2. breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it's location. The staff was friendly and they have ok internet speed. The room is small (ok for european standard) but outdated. I will stay here again because its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If this is what 95 euro gets you in Amsterdam I will never go there again. We arrived at about 9 pm and were told we were not staying in the main building but in a house a few doors down. We got the basement room, very small, old fashioned, table and chairs from the 70's, camp beds, window didn't shut properly, when the person above walked around I thought he was going to come through the ceiling, I'm over 6ft so couldn't sit properly on the toilet as the wall in front was too close. My wife and I were only staying one night so we made the most of it. If had been staying longer would definitely have moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.