We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The location is by far the best thing about this hotel - right in the very charming Jordaan neighborhood, about a five minute walk from the Anne Frank House, but a solid half hour walk to Central Station, so if you have a lot of luggage you definitely need to take a taxi. My pet peeve is showers that aren't enclosed - I can't stand it when the whole bathroom floor gets wet - so I wouldn't be able to stay here more than a night or two, I would go crazy. Some things are just worth the extra money. There are also no shelves or hooks in the bathroom, so you have no place to hang towels or put your toiletries, except on the side of the very small pedestal sink. But it's really difficult to get a room with a private bath for less than 95 euro in this neighborhood, so ultimately you have to decide what you value more. The room itself, as others have mentioned, is very spartan, with a dorm room feel to it; there is no elevator so you better be sure that you can lug your suitcases up the stairs, the gentleman who checked us in made no offer to help us. The lobby and breakfast area is definitely more charming than the room, and includes two slices of toast each, a slice of ham and cheese each, and tea. You're not going to be stuffed, but it's something.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    285
    201
    55
    18
See reviews for
91
246
139
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

CONS:

1. VERY NARROW WINDING STAIRS!!
2. MANY ANGLES IN THE ROOM & BATHROOM!! easy to hit your head!
3. 5% charge if pay w credit card!
4. sparse room, no wifi, no phone

PROS:
1. good location
2. breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because it's location. The staff was friendly and they have ok internet speed. The room is small (ok for european standard) but outdated. I will stay here again because its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If this is what 95 euro gets you in Amsterdam I will never go there again. We arrived at about 9 pm and were told we were not staying in the main building but in a house a few doors down. We got the basement room, very small, old fashioned, table and chairs from the 70's, camp beds, window didn't shut properly, when the person above walked around I thought he was going to come through the ceiling, I'm over 6ft so couldn't sit properly on the toilet as the wall in front was too close. My wife and I were only staying one night so we made the most of it. If had been staying longer would definitely have moved somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

For the price I think its a great place to be.
Though I didn't have time to join them for breakfast but it sure looks good
Very friendly staff & very neat
They should just try and fix TVs in d rooms, it could get really boring there at times. But overall I would gladly stay there again.


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.