We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Basic but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Spent two nights in a single room which did take me back to my military days a little.Basic single bed,who's springs bonged on every movement,but I have slept in worst.The room was clean and basic with a good strong shower.Breakfast was average with bread,cheese,ham,boiled egg and jam with tea or coffee.Lap top in reception which they allowed me to print my boarding card on.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    277
    189
    51
    18
See reviews for
88
231
134
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very good location, central, quite and close to Vesterkerk and Anne Frank´s house. Cheap and clean and ok breakfast! The room is ok, good cleaning, new towels each day. The beds ok for a few nights...


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

On the whole we greatly enjoyed our 7-night stay in July 2013. At first we didn't get a canal view room either, but could change to one after 3 nights, which we appreciated. Yes, the shower IS basic, as Laurelsan wrote, and a refrigerator (which seems to be a standard fixture in hôtels we usually stay in, at similar prices) would be advantageous in the hight of summer. There is no TV, perfectly OK with us. A safe could be handy. Access to a laptop with free Wi-Fi in the reception area was appreciated. Breakfast was not very tourist-oriented: I missed a glass of orange juice to start the day with. All these remarks are meant to show what to expect, not to be off-putting, since what we got, including the friendly, helpful ways of the staff, made well up for the few elements we found missing. For good sleepers - yes, the church bell DOES ring every 15 minutes - we would recommend this hotel without any hesitation, as we would return to it, with pleasure. (I am 71!)

Room Tip: 3rd floor canal-view room is great (remember: no lift)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Perfect location in Bloemgracht. Clean and simple. Not much place for putting clothes. I loved the church bell music at night from Westerkerk - my woman-friend didn't :-) It was really hot summer, and 3d floor was a bit to the warm side, but still very nice. Cool air from the canal ... And very nice people. Great walk en the Jordaan with Annebelle van den Bergh, arranged by the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.