We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but adequate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel van Onna
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    357
    241
    63
    25
See reviews for
119
306
157
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a quick visit to Amsterdam in June 2013. The hotel is conveniently located close to the Anne Frank House on a quiet side canal - very pretty location. The rooms and breakfast were fine, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel van Onna as it was located on a beautiful canal. You literally walk down the street and there is the famous Westermarkt Church and Anne Frank House. The tram stop is right in front of the Westermarkt Church as well. The bells ring every 15 minutes from the church, but surprisingly it didn't bother us throughout the night. There are several other site-seeing activities on the street including the Houseboat Museum and Tulip Museum. It was cheapest price I found for $118 per per night. It offers the bare essentials, but it was everything we needed. I enjoyed it since it is a "true" experience of what most hotels are like in Europe. Beware that is doesn't have a shower curtain as most European showers don't so your bathroom is literally a "wash room" and the entire floor gets wet, but they provide you with a squeegee. We loved it and thought it was all about the experience. There wasn't a canal view room available, but I emailed the hotel and requested it. There wasn't one available for our first night, but for the remaining three so we switched to a canal view room which was gorgeous. They allowed us to switch rooms early in the morning instead of having to wait until the check-in time again. They had a bath soap dispenser in the shower room and provided clean towels every day. They also have a laptop with free wi-fi for guests to use in their reception area. They provided a traditional Dutch breakfast (included in the price) which included four pieces of bread, one piece of toasted bread, two pieces of meat, jam, butter, sugar, chocolate sprinkles, a boiled egg, and coffee or tea. The hotel receptionists were very helpful and informative of all our questions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We loved the location in Jordaan! The hotel Was fine, it has one Star, it is clean and the staff is freindly. The breakfast was poor, overboiled eggs, poor bread and jam. We only ate breakfast the first Day, after that we chose, sone of the superb breakfast restaurants int the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel van Onna was an excellent place to stay in Amsterdam. Very clean, inexpensive, and in a great location with free breakfast and WiFi... what more could you possibly want?
The only drawback I found was that the church bells go off every 15 minutes through the night but that will be the case everywhere and you do get used to that. The rooms are plain with no TV but if you are planning on watching TV in Amsterdam you should probably just stay home, If you want a great base from which to explore one of the world's greatest cities then look no further than Hotel van Onna.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.