We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay in hotel van Onna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    306
    213
    59
    20
See reviews for
102
263
141
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

great location,but cheese,ham and hard boiled egg every morning tea or coffee thats it,double room, very small with a single wardrobe and one very small towel each.room had nice view of canal but i noticied some rooms were in a different building

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I surprised my boyfriend witha 3 day trip to amsterdam for his christmas present. I wanted something cheap and cheerful, and hotel Van onna provided tht. The hotel was located just far enough away from the main hustle and bustle, but within walking difference of many attractions. The hotel provided a good clean room, with a bathroom clean and big enough for two. The only problem was no shower curtain, more of a wet room, though not a big deal as they provide a sponge broom to dry it. Maid service every day, as well as a lovely breakfast, that if you can manage to eat it all (proved challenging, but food tended to be expenisve around amsterdam) fills you up for the rest of the day. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The only annoying thing, though not that much of an issue were the church bells. They sure like them, every 15 minutes. Also, with the 10% extra charge for card and tourist tax or whatever, it makes it kinda expesnive. But, still, stay here. It's charming and friendly and nicely located. Stay here if you're looking for a nice friendly cute bed and breakfasty place :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

there was everything that I needed apart from the WI-FI which could really only be accessed in the reception.
As my stay was fairly lengthy, it was slightly annoying, not to mention having no television in the rooms.

Other than, everything was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Van Onna is a canalside hotel in the Jordaan in a location which is quiet and residential but only five minutes from the Westerkerk, several tram stops, and Ann Frank's house. I find hotels in Amsterdam ridiculously expensive but this one isn't, and I believe it's rare to find a hotel in the Jordaan area at all let alone a reasonably-priced one.

We stayed for three nights over New Year in room 40 which is small, comfortable, and on the first floor overlooking the canal. The hotel is basic but met all our needs for a short stay. The bed and the room temperature were very comfortable and there was lashings of hot water in the shower.

Breakfast is served in a pretty dining room and the following is brought to your table: hot drinks (no decaf coffee - boo), bread, butter, jam, chocolate sprinkles, hard-boiled egg, small plate of ham and cheese.

Staff were friendly and helpful, and we thought the sound of the church bells as it drifted down the canal was really beautiful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.