We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over on cycle trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Stop over on cycle trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was just an overnight stay on a cycle trip around the Netherlands. As a relatively cheap one star hotel in Amsterdam we were not expecting the Ritz. Nor was it, of course but the room was clean, quiet and comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. We had asked for a secure place to store the bikes and this was immediately accommodated. The hotel is in a really convenient central location right in the heart of Old Amsterdam and recommended if you want a good cheap place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    306
    213
    59
    20
See reviews for
102
263
141
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a small hotel on the prettiest canal in Amsterdam. The hotel is not fancy, lots of stairs, no elevator but it has comfortable beds, a good breakfast, and a view of the canal and the Nordekirk.
It has a prime location in the Jordan district on the Bloemengracht.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

very nice hostel in the middle of the Jordaan :-)
the people were very kind en helpful.
the room was very okay.
and the bed was really good the sleep on (not to soft not to hard, just fine!)
we are certainly coming back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I've stayed here on 3 other occasions and again just recently and it's always perfect for low cost accommodations in a beautiful and central part of the city. Easy to get to from Central Station via tram or by foot.
Rooms are somewhat spartan but clean. Breakfast is included and quite good...coffee,breads,meat, cheese, eggs. Also Wifi in main building, though I couldn't get connected once I was in my room which is in one of the connecting canal houses that are part of the hotel.
On a previous trip I met Loek Van Onna and he was a nice gentleman who passed away last year. But the new management is continuing with the same format and standards. Very reasonable hotel and nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The owner and staff of Hotel van Onna were terrific. They even managed to somehow keep the rain away much of the time. It was the second time we stayed there and the next time in Amsterdam we plan to stay there as well. The rooms were small and could use a bit more updating, but were comfortable enough for the two of us, and the location perfect for getting around by tram or walking into and around the heart of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in hotel vonna and really preciated the service of friendly staff,canal viewed room(and clean sheets&towels cause that might be a huge hostel problem smtimes),nice breakfast and cool location.i definetly recommend this place to my friends plan to go amsterdam and would stay there myself again without a doubt of a second.it s located very close (10 min walk away) to dam square where will connect you to central station etc.really cosy nice place.We passed to paris from amsterdam
And comparing the hostel we now stay in paris make me think ' van onna is a place on earth from heaven:) just go for it!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.