We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Van Onna - Brilliant on a Budget!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Van Onna - Brilliant on a Budget!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

I would like to thank the Hotel Van Onna for restoring my faith in budget hotels. I was a little nervous at first when my freind told me we are going to amsterdam and were staying in a budget hotel... I expected peeling wallpaper and music till all hours!

I could not have been more wrong. The hotel Van Onna is a small little hotel that is less than100 meters from Ann Franks House, 5 minutes walk from Dam Square and is situated in a quiet neighbourhood. The staff are freindly, the breakfast is great and the rooms are very clean!

I would definately recomend this hotel to anyone who is visiting amsterdam.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a canal view and ended up on the first floor. It was quite wamr and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    281
    195
    53
    18
See reviews for
89
238
138
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Volgograd, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Very good location - Bloemgracht is quiet and lovely place! Hotel is really good for this price. It's difficult to find cozy and not expensive hotel in Amsterdam! We had room with canal view. Room was simple, but bed, shower, toilet, hanger and two chairs are enough to sleep! :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Rooms are small but clean and tidy - not too cluttered. I can imagine the tall narrow stairs being a problem for elderley visitors, but this didn't bother us.

The only real dissapointment was that there was no tv in the room- in the hotels defence TV isn't listed as a room facility, but this was an oversight from my part as the majority of hotels now have TVs as basic (at least in the UK!)

Staff are great, very friendly and allow you to leave luggage in the hotel after check-out if you have a late flight, so you are able to soak a few more hours of Amsterdam up without carrying luggage around!

Overall, very pleased, lovely area and easily accessible, would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here from Sunday 8th April-Thursday 12th April.
Close to beautiful and reasonable restaurants and bars.
Lovely breakfast.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This hotel is situated in a very convenient location, The staff are friendly. The rooms do not have a TV or tea and coffee making facilities. The mattresses are thin but the sheets are clean underneath the blanket. Breakfast was bread, 1 ham slice, 1 cheese slice, jam, tea or coffee. We had almost finished when a boiled egg arrived. I was still hungry afterwards and juice would have been a welcome addition. All in all it seemed a little expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.