We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

It is situated in the Jordaan, a pleasant and quiet district, in the centre of Amsterdam.
The building overlooks the Bloemgracht. The decoration is made of very beautiful black and white pictures of Amsterdam.
The rooms are basic but practical and clean. The bathroom could be improved by a shower door or curtain to avoid flood. The hotel is non smoking, a real asset.
The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and is included in the room price. It is a very good value hotel. The only disadvantage : cash payment only.
For a budget hotel, it is very good.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    314
    216
    59
    20
See reviews for
105
268
144
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We had a double room that was newly refurbished and very clean. Our stay was very pleasant a casual walk from the most scenic areas and key venues we wanted to go to. The breakfast was included and uniquely in my travellers experience served to the table - the coffee which I am hard to get pleased by was of excellent quality and the breakfast itself generous. It would be improved by adding orange juice. Still everyone at the hotel was helpful and gave us good advice on where to go in Amsterdam.
The hotel is also close to a church that has lovely bells that is if you enjoy those at 7 am but Amsterdam is not a destination for a quiet stay....

Room Tip: The hotel has steep staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO. USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

We expected a basic, affordable room in a great neighborhood, and we were not disappointed. The location was outstanding, on the Bloemgracht, which is quiet all the time in wild and crazy Amsterdam, but is close to the Westmarkt tram stop and in the middle of the beautiful Jordaan. The room, while simple, was quite cozy and the size was fine. I admit I was a little worried about the cot like beds and the wet room bath going in, but my fears proved groundless. The beds were surprisingly comfy and I really came to like the open shower room, just mop up a little with the towel. The staff was friendly at all times and quite professional in their approach to inn keeping. The breakfasts are served at your table in their lovely breakfast room and consist of a boiled egg (treat), ham/cheese, bread/butter/jam, chocolate sprinkles, coffee/tea. Delicious!! Free WiFi was great! Stairs, but easily managed. Amsterdam is an exciting city with fabulous sights and we loved excursions to Haarlem, Delft, and the Waterland towns. Great restaurants in the Jordaan include Cafe de Prins, Soan Thai, and Cafe de Rigeur. Stay at the Van Onna if you value a central location and great neighborhood over frills and want an affordable place to stay.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This hotel is located close to the main sights. You can reach the Schiphol Airport within an hour. If you like walking, you can reach everything on foot, the Dam square is only 15 minutes... The Jordaan area is calm and clean.
The hotel is cosy, the Staff is very kind, and the breakfast is delicious.
The only thing which is not the best: the steep stairs.
If you wish, you can choose a room with canal view, I loved it!!
This hotel was definitely a good choice!!

Room Tip: Get a room with canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

If you are on a tight budget and still want to stay very central and have a normal room with a bathroom, then this is probably one of the best hotels in Amsterdam. Located in Jordaan area, a truly Amsterdam canal house with a neat and well maintained rooms, Hotel van Onna is a very good value for money.
My room was basic but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was simple but modern, wifi is included in price and faster than in many expensive hotels. I was on the second floor with a view to the courtyard and the room was very quiet.
All staff people including the owner were very helpful and friendly.
So, totally recommended..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba/PR Brasil
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

The neighbourhood is wonderful, quiet and near of every spot to visit. The staff are friendly and the breakfast is good. The only thing is that the room is small and in the shower ther is no box but the cost benefit worth the visit.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

The location is very good in nice district (Jordaan), staff is friendly and helpful. Free wireless and walking distance (15 minutes) from central station. Fare is cheap, as compared to the Amsterdam standard (room with private facilities for 45 euro). Breakfast was ok.
However, the room was very dirty, especially the floor. I've found hair on the washbasin and there is no curtain in the shower, is it so expensive to buy one? They also gave me just one bath towel. Bed is not confortable, too short, and room noisy (from outside).
To sum up, a cheap and central option, but I would not recommend to stay there for more than one night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.