We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation at a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Lodge

Amsterdam Lodge
Amsterdam Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Lodge
17 Stadionweg, Amsterdam 1077RV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #198 of 301 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Excellent accommodation at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2006

We have to add to the very positive feedback about the Amsterdam Lodge.

Given the budget price we didn’t expect much, but we were pleasantly surprised. The place was clean, tidy, and well equipped – there is even a PC with internet in the lounge. We had the Ivy Room, which is at the back of the house, reached through the kitchen. It wasn’t a big room but it did what we needed it to do. The bed was comfortable, and everything was clean, including the en-suite shower and toilet. There was also the nice touch of fresh flowers on the bedside table. It would be a great room to have in the summer, because there is a small terrace just off the room, and we could just imagine sipping wine there at the end of a warm summer day.

We stayed there in the middle of January (last week!), and were worried it might be a little cold, but the heating was running non-stop, and every room was nice and cosy. We were there on our own so we had the lounge area to ourselves, and it was nice to laze around on the slightly battered leather couches while listening to some of the CDs which are provided along with a hi-fi.

The location is great – only about 15 minutes walk to Central Station, and even less into the centre of town. Jordaan has its touristy spots, but the immediate area around the apartment is not at all touristy, which was exactly what we wanted. The area is wonderfully quiet, especially at night, although it is only about 5 minutes’ walk to the local bars and restaurants if you want to find some action. An advantage of the location is that you pay locals’ prices rather than tourist prices in the shops etc. One downside of the narrow all-look-the-same streets round there is that it is pretty easy to get lost, especially at first, but we managed to do it on our last night there! Going back to the local facilities, for excellent food at ridiculously cheap prices, we especially recommend La Vita for Italian, and Caramba for Spanish was good too. A great bar is De Vergulde Gaper just the other side of the Prinsengracht in view of the nearby church. Very friendly staff, nice atmosphere, reasonable prices, and fantastic Leffe beer! Like all Dutch bars, they don’t mind kids or animals in there. All 3 are less than 5 minutes walk from the apartment.)

Bas and Anita were great hosts, offering all sorts of advice and helpful information each morning when they came in to prepare breakfast – the best places to eat, where to hire bikes, how best to get to places, maps, phone numbers - you will not meet a friendlier couple in Amsterdam. Bas is a real entrepreneur – he even has an interest in an international video game-playing team! Breakfast was continental – croissants and a variety of breads, a selection of jams, some cereals, a boiled egg, orange juice and tea/coffee. A chat over a leisurely breakfast was a nice way to start the day.

All in all a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Amsterdam Lodge, which we would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2005

We had a very pleasant 2 day stay in the amsterdam lodge red room. The room appeared exactly as it does on the website. It was very clean and nicely decorated. Bed and pillows were comfy. Bas provided us with fresh towels and a great breakfast daily. Use of free internet and amsterdam reading material was convenient. Bas was a fantastic host, providing us with lots of information to help us plan our stay.

We caught the opstapper bus there as recommended and the Jordaan really is the prettiest area in amsterdam. It's in a quiet location, yet you are 5 mins walk away from cafes and restaurants.

Make sure you let Bas know if you are going to be arriving at a different time to that advised, as there are only 3 rooms, so he won't be at the lodge all day waiting for you.

Really can't go wrong, Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

Thank you Bas. The Amsterdam Lodge is well placed in a great 'local' neighbourhood, with plenty of good bars and restaurants, far removed in atmosphere from the 'tourist areas'. It felt like the real Amsterdam. Bas was the perfect host providing the extra information needed so as not to waste any time during our short stay in the city. Having said that it was great to just sit with a cold beer and watch the canal traffic and the suicidal bikes! The B & B is small and cosy, to use one of Bas's favourite words, and breakfast was relaxed and enjoyable chatting with both Bas and the other guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

Honestly, we could not have asked for anything better. Bas is a splendid host who was extremely informative and helpful during our stay. Our accomodation in the blue room was just perfect for us as it had everything we needed. Bas made sure that we had clean towels every day and was on hand each morning to give us a hearty and varied breakfast. We enjoyed a great degree of privacy in our room and we were surprised how peaceful and quiet the Lodge is at night. That, for us, was a huge bonus. Although we initially had problems finding our way about wonderful Amsterdam Bas supplied us with maps and guidance, etc., and was kind enough to write down his phone number as well should we get lost! All in all, we would highly recommend the lodge so much so that we are already making enquiries about a further stay!!! All we can say is ''keep up the good work''

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We have stayed at Amsterdam Lodge twice. We made our first trip to Amsterdam in April, 2004, had a great time, and fell in love with the city. Our stay at the Amsterdam Lodge was what made that first trip such a pleasure. Good location, quiet neighborhood, comfortable bed, good breakfast, privacy, and our host Bas. We felt so fortunate to have found this place. Bas greets you, and gives you your keys, your own copy of a good map of the city, restaurant suggestions, and any other helpful information, then you are on your own until Bas returns and serves breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with other guests.The whole atmosphere is very relaxed, Bas puts everyone at ease. If you are a fan of American baseball, you will have a special bond with him.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

Stayed in June 2005.

Logistics – The hotel is well situated. We got the train from the airport; they run every 15 mins and take about 20 mins to get to Amsterdam Central Station & costs a few Euro. We walked from the station to the hotel with suitcases easily in 20 mins. I had printed a map of the city from the internet before leaving and the owner Bas had also supplied directions, however if you arrive when dark get a taxi or risk loosing your way.

Location – is very good. As I said you are 15 minutes from station and you can easily explore the city on foot if you like walking, otherwise hire a bike. The hotel is on the West of the city in a nice peaceful street.

The hotel – The Amsterdam lodge is on three floors. Floor one is sublet to a small cloths shop. Don’t worry about this I never saw anyone in there and were not at all bothered. You enter the lodge via a door next to the shop and a narrow staircase takes you to the first floor. This has lounge/dining area, kitchen and the first room. A second staircase takes you to the second floor where you have two further bedrooms.

The Staff (Sorry Bas could not resist) – Bas is a great host, very helpful and interesting to chat to over breakfast about you plans for the day. Rooms always clean and fresh towels every day. Bas does not stay in the hotel so you get you own key and come and go as you please. Breakfast was bread, jams,eggs etc and very nice too. When I booked the hotel Bas was very quick to respond to emails and provide details.

The Red Room – This is where we stayed. Very comfortable, with Fridge, TV, hanging space etc. Your private bathroom is just across the hall & while not perfect you soon get used to it.

General Tips – bas can advise on places to eat. We chose a place on the first nigh at his suggestion and had great food, can’t remember the name but just around the corner. Just enjoy – you will miss it when your home.

Would return again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

We booked this B&B not knowing quite what to expect and it was brilliant! Located in the quiet area of the Jordaan with lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We stayed in the red room, very clean and spacious!! Great breakfast. Bas the host is extremeley friendly and will try and help as much as he can. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Lodge

Address: 17 Stadionweg, Amsterdam 1077RV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #198 of 301 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious villa of legendary Author Xaviera Hollander in the heart of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Lodge to your Saves list