We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Lodge

Amsterdam Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Lodge
Save
You added Amsterdam Lodge to your Saves list
17 Stadionweg, 1077RV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
manchester uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

Thank you Bas. The Amsterdam Lodge is well placed in a great 'local' neighbourhood, with plenty of good bars and restaurants, far removed in atmosphere from the 'tourist areas'. It felt like the real Amsterdam. Bas was the perfect host providing the extra information needed so as not to waste any time during our short stay in the city. Having said that it was great to just sit with a cold beer and watch the canal traffic and the suicidal bikes! The B & B is small and cosy, to use one of Bas's favourite words, and breakfast was relaxed and enjoyable chatting with both Bas and the other guests. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2005

Honestly, we could not have asked for anything better. Bas is a splendid host who was extremely informative and helpful during our stay. Our accomodation in the blue room was just perfect for us as it had everything we needed. Bas made sure that we had clean towels every day and was on hand each morning to give us a hearty and varied breakfast. We enjoyed a great degree of privacy in our room and we were surprised how peaceful and quiet the Lodge is at night. That, for us, was a huge bonus. Although we initially had problems finding our way about wonderful Amsterdam Bas supplied us with maps and guidance, etc., and was kind enough to write down his phone number as well should we get lost! All in all, we would highly recommend the lodge so much so that we are already making enquiries about a further stay!!! All we can say is ''keep up the good work''

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2005

We have stayed at Amsterdam Lodge twice. We made our first trip to Amsterdam in April, 2004, had a great time, and fell in love with the city. Our stay at the Amsterdam Lodge was what made that first trip such a pleasure. Good location, quiet neighborhood, comfortable bed, good breakfast, privacy, and our host Bas. We felt so fortunate to have found this place. Bas greets you, and gives you your keys, your own copy of a good map of the city, restaurant suggestions, and any other helpful information, then you are on your own until Bas returns and serves breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with other guests.The whole atmosphere is very relaxed, Bas puts everyone at ease. If you are a fan of American baseball, you will have a special bond with him.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2005

Stayed in June 2005.

Logistics – The hotel is well situated. We got the train from the airport; they run every 15 mins and take about 20 mins to get to Amsterdam Central Station & costs a few Euro. We walked from the station to the hotel with suitcases easily in 20 mins. I had printed a map of the city from the internet before leaving and the owner Bas had also supplied directions, however if you arrive when dark get a taxi or risk loosing your way.

Location – is very good. As I said you are 15 minutes from station and you can easily explore the city on foot if you like walking, otherwise hire a bike. The hotel is on the West of the city in a nice peaceful street.

The hotel – The Amsterdam lodge is on three floors. Floor one is sublet to a small cloths shop. Don’t worry about this I never saw anyone in there and were not at all bothered. You enter the lodge via a door next to the shop and a narrow staircase takes you to the first floor. This has lounge/dining area, kitchen and the first room. A second staircase takes you to the second floor where you have two further bedrooms.

The Staff (Sorry Bas could not resist) – Bas is a great host, very helpful and interesting to chat to over breakfast about you plans for the day. Rooms always clean and fresh towels every day. Bas does not stay in the hotel so you get you own key and come and go as you please. Breakfast was bread, jams,eggs etc and very nice too. When I booked the hotel Bas was very quick to respond to emails and provide details.

The Red Room – This is where we stayed. Very comfortable, with Fridge, TV, hanging space etc. Your private bathroom is just across the hall & while not perfect you soon get used to it.

General Tips – bas can advise on places to eat. We chose a place on the first nigh at his suggestion and had great food, can’t remember the name but just around the corner. Just enjoy – you will miss it when your home.

Would return again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2005

We booked this B&B not knowing quite what to expect and it was brilliant! Located in the quiet area of the Jordaan with lots of lovely bars and restaurants. We stayed in the red room, very clean and spacious!! Great breakfast. Bas the host is extremeley friendly and will try and help as much as he can. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2005

We had a great time in Amsterdam last November and part of it because of our stay at the Amsterdam Lodge. The area is peaceful, everything is in walking distance. We had booked the Red Room, large, nicely furnished, confortable and bright, though the (private) bathroom was accross the corridor. The place is very clean. Breakfast is generous with fresh bread every morning and sharing breakfast with the other hosts is quite friendly. Any request, Bas and Anita will give you advice. Good value for money. Very good address.
Anne & Olivier - Paris, France.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2004

Booked this B & B after reading reviews on this site not disappointed. We had the Ivy room which was small but clean, comfortable and quiet. Owner does not live in property which I feel is preferrable for privacy. However Bas the owner is exceptionally friendly and helpful and gives lots of advice over breakfast. Area around lodge has lots of nice restaurants and bars and its not far to walk into the centre. Very good vegetarian restaurant nearby De Bolhoed I think its called! Overall Lodge offers good value for money and i would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Lodge

Address: 17 Stadionweg, 1077RV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious villa of legendary Author Xaviera Hollander in the heart of Amsterdam. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.