We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Indian restaurant in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samrat

Samrat
Bethaniendwarsstraat 17, 1012 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))
020-624-6033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,072 of 2,544 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Nice little Indian restaurant in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Fiancee and I stopped into the Samrat Indian Restaurant for dinner during our christmas trip to Amsterdam.
The restaurant itsel is very small but the service and the food are great.
The food was very tasty and nice size portions, gave a nice heat in your belly on a cold winters night!
worth trying out!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    23
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was good, though a little pricey than other Indian restaurants. The staff of the place were quite "unfriendly" and "rude".

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food very much and the service was excellent. A fairly small menu but executed very well. Nice little Indian restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
163 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant in Old Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This tiny little restaurant is one of my favourites in Amsterdam! Many times we enjoyed here delicious Indian dishes with lamb or chicken. The interior is simple but the atmosphere is cosy. The dishes are reasonably priced. And the owner is very friendly: always waving and smiling when we pass by on our bicycles. We'll come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very good food at great price/quality, nice and quiet ambient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A well kept secret in this busy city , great Indian tasty food in a decent and small restaurant.
Price/quality is excellent. We discovered the place by chance and now recommend it to visitors like us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.