We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Indian restaurant in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samrat

Samrat
Bethaniendwarsstraat 17, 1012 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-624-6033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #979 of 2,483 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice little Indian restaurant in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

My Fiancee and I stopped into the Samrat Indian Restaurant for dinner during our christmas trip to Amsterdam.
The restaurant itsel is very small but the service and the food are great.
The food was very tasty and nice size portions, gave a nice heat in your belly on a cold winters night!
worth trying out!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Food was good, though a little pricey than other Indian restaurants. The staff of the place were quite "unfriendly" and "rude".

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food very much and the service was excellent. A fairly small menu but executed very well. Nice little Indian restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant in Old Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This tiny little restaurant is one of my favourites in Amsterdam! Many times we enjoyed here delicious Indian dishes with lamb or chicken. The interior is simple but the atmosphere is cosy. The dishes are reasonably priced. And the owner is very friendly: always waving and smiling when we pass by on our bicycles. We'll come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good food at great price/quality, nice and quiet ambient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A well kept secret in this busy city , great Indian tasty food in a decent and small restaurant.
Price/quality is excellent. We discovered the place by chance and now recommend it to visitors like us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.