We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good curry” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samrat

Samrat
Bethaniendwarsstraat 17, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-624-6033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,190 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food very much and the service was excellent. A fairly small menu but executed very well. Nice little Indian restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    11
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Indian restaurant in Old Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This tiny little restaurant is one of my favourites in Amsterdam! Many times we enjoyed here delicious Indian dishes with lamb or chicken. The interior is simple but the atmosphere is cosy. The dishes are reasonably priced. And the owner is very friendly: always waving and smiling when we pass by on our bicycles. We'll come back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very good food at great price/quality, nice and quiet ambient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A well kept secret in this busy city , great Indian tasty food in a decent and small restaurant.
Price/quality is excellent. We discovered the place by chance and now recommend it to visitors like us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small and cozy typical Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Small and cozy Indian restaurant. Good was great, also the wine. Good service, great value for money. A small silent oasis within he busy Amsterdam centre.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited Samrat Restaurant after a recommendation from Amsterdammers. The food was so delicious that during our 7 night stay we ate there three times in all. The service and hospitality was very friendly. We chose different dishes each visit and the food was of a very high standard. Prices were reasonable. Would highly recommend a visit, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samrat also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Samrat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samrat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.