We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality food, friendly local veggie-led cafe/restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenzi Cucina

Frenzi Cucina
Overtoom 459 | Neighborhoods: Zuid, West, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #935 of 2,322 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good quality food, friendly local veggie-led cafe/restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed at the West Cord Fashion hotel, and this place on the Overtoom was the only local we liked - we went there 3 times. It is quite casual and people tend to drop in rather than book. Open morning to mid evening. The seating areas are small. However, the staff are very friendly, speak English well, and all the food is made on the premises. It reminded me of Bill's restaurants.
They had lots of deli, quiche, salad, pasta type food to choose from, all freshlly made. We had their 'surprise' three course menu for 25 euros one night and it was all delicious and very filling.
Great spot for vegetarians - about 50% of the options are veggie.
Good value for Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We just stopped in as it was near our apt. Very friendly service. Nice menu but limited choice. Lots of locals in place. We both had a pasta special and enjoyed it greatly. They have English menu and both staff speak excellent English.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely food and relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This place was near my hotel. The first time I ate there it was a random choice but I went back twice because it was so nice.

The food is very good: mainly pasta dishes, salads and tapas. Portions are generous. Service is friendly and helpful.

I saw lots of locals come in to buy food to take away and there seemed to be plenty of regular customers eating there too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner here one of the evenings of my stay in amsterdam. We tried the italian table for 25 €, and we got so much food we could not eat it all and it all tasted terrific, don't miss this place, take the 1 tram to the last stop on overtoom walk 2 minutes and your there

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Little Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My boyfriend and I went here for a coffee and little dessert one evening after dinner. The food was good (not mind-blowing, but definitely good), and the service was fantastic. Wish we had time to have lunch here, as their savoury foods looked amazing!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenzi Cucina also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Frenzi Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenzi Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.