We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely warm host and accommodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Save
You added Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad to your Saves list
Ertskade 2 | 1019BB, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely warm host and accommodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Sylvia and Theo were were both friendly and professional. The accommodation was spotless!! It was peaceful and tranquil. Perfect for a couple or a small family. It is only three very shot stops on the tram. Close enough to the city and far enough from the madness at the same time.

Both hosts were extremely helpful and the breakfast each morning was to die for! Oh, and the waffels! Thanks Sylvia
Martina and Gerard - Dublin

Room Tip: The entire boat was quite, which was exactly what we were looking for. Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friends an I had a wonderful time at the Boat & Breakfast. Theo and Sylvia are wonderful hosts! Breakfast was our favourite part, it was delicious. Theo even received and dropped us off at the train station which helped us out a whole lot. We would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

we enjoyed a three night stay in this beautiful boat! Sylvia and Theo are great hosts who are friendly and very happy to assist with touristy questions.

the boat is in an ideal location for hopping onto a tram and exploring the city.

the breakfasts prepared by Sylvia each morning are plentiful and just what you need before a day exploring the sights.

i would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone fancying a change from the traditional hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were 2 couples travelling to Amsterdam and we decided to stay at Theo & Slyvia's houseboat. I can safely say that this was the best decision we made and Theo & Slyvia did their bit to make it a memorable experience for us.

The boat and the stay: Theo was there to receive us at the central station and drive us back to the houseboat. We received a warm welcome (with a nice welcome drink and traditional dutch waffles) and both the hosts were very welcoming in their response to all our eager questions and travels. Since we had booked both the rooms, we had our privacy to an entire half of the boat. Theo & Slyvia have very professionally kept a lot of discount traveller coupons which you can just take off the wall and use to save some sightseeing/dining money. The rooms as such were very cosy with floor heating. Everything was very clean. the beds are very good and ensure that you get a good sleep. The wifi speed is good.

The icing on the cake: On the deck they have 4 chairs and a table. And on a day with nice weather they serve you breakfast on the deck which makes it a unique and memorable experience. We loved Theo & Slyvia for this experience.

Room Tip: One room has a bathroom without a door. But is the better of the two rooms from all other aspects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontainebleau, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Sylvia and Theo were the most friendly host who genuinely care about us as guests and wanted us to have a good time in Amsterdam. They were very accommodating for our late arrival. The location was great as the access to central Amsterdam was simple and quick. The breakfast was fresh, healthy, and delicious.
“Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad” was the highlight of our stay in Amsterdam.

Thank you Sylvia and Theo! It was a pleasure to know both of you!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We ( 2 couples) lived in this lovely and well- decorated houseboat for 1 night in February. Theo and Sylvia are really nice and friendly, as well as their lovely dog ;)
Not to mention the welcome drink and traditional dutch waffle, the breakfast was very nice and tasty!
We will defiantly recommend our friends to stay at this houseboat when they visit Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We spent a couple of nights at this B&B in December. It was very clean and quite spacious. It's located in a very quiet spot and either way you get the impression that it is well insulated so no noise issues if you're a light sleeper. Our hosts were very gracious and friendly. Breakfast was always fresh, plentiful and delicious. The only thing is it's located a little bit further out so if you're looking to get to the area around Centraal station, its about a 12-15minute walk to the tram stop, though the tram journey itself is quite short. We also missed the little things like complimentary toiletries we'd come to expect from B&Bs of this calibre. Also the room wasn't cleaned, beds made etc after the first night though this might possibly have been because it was a short 2 night stay so wasn't a big deal for us. All in all a novel way of spending the weekend and we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thanks for your kind and clear review. I think it's a good idea to start with complimentary toiletries again. I'm going to search for nice little shampoo and soap'.
Greetings,

Sylvia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

Address: Ertskade 2 | 1019BB, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the water in the Venice of the North: Amsterdam. This completely renovated B&B offers two luxury rooms with private bathrooms on this converted barge. The B&B has a private entrance on the boat, there is a breakfast kitchen for the guests, and you can enjoy the grand view of the eastern docklands on the deck terrace on a nice summer's day. Getting to and from the major highlights of Amsterdam (the canals, the museums) takes some easy 15 minutes by tram. Rental bikes are available at the ship. It is the perfect place to explore the city during the day and retreat to this peaceful B&B on the water for the night. If you arrive at the Central Station we can pick you up with our station wagon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.