We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad
Save Saved
You added Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad to your Saves list
Ertskade 2 | 1019BB, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We just had a fabulous stay at 'de Dageraad' boat. Sylvia and Theo are exceptional hosts, the boat is Dutch clean, the boat experience is unique and very comfortable. We rented their bikes and had enjoyable, easy bike rides into the center of Amsterdam. The Eastern Docklands are a very interesting area to walk, to see a different area of Amsterdam with more modern architecture. A great contrast to the busy center.
The breakfasts were awesome. This was one of the most exceptional places we have stayed on our many travels, with hands down the best value of any!
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBdeDageraad, Owner at Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It was a joy meeting you and having you on board. Hope to see you again some day. Kind regards, Theo & sylvia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
27
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ruesselsheim, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I´ve been to Amsterdam quite some times but I have never been to a more fab B&B. The newly renovated boat is a five-star location and the breakfast was so lovely I had to take a picture of it and post it on facebook.
I will definitely be back - I actually can´t wait!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soignies, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It was a funny experience to stay on a boat rather than in a hotel. And if you add the welcoming and smile of the owners it gives you a very envoyable stay!
The room was very clean and the breakfasts really tasty. We even settled with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine!
The boat is located in a quite area and public transports are accessible and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We really love it. The boat is big, cute, you will have a great breakfast in the terrace, drink prosseco at the moment you arrive, have beatiful views and the pacefull you need after a long walk in the crowed Amsterdam. Theo and Sylvia were incredible with us. The room are lovely.
Everything is just perfect

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here (two couples two rooms). The hosts were very nice and generous. They picked us up from central station. When we arrived there was a bottle of champagne on ice and Dutch sweets waiting for us. The rooms were very nice and newly renovated. The breakfasts were AWESOME.

Pros: Service, Rooms, Amenities, Staff, Price
Cons: A little far from city center, you have to walk 10 mins to the tram and 10 mins tram ride

Room Tip: Both rooms are nice but the one on the left when you go down the stairs is a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I took my boyfriend away for his birthday wkend 9th Aug 2013. We had never visited Amsterdam before so what better way to spend our nights than on a lovely family-run boat! Sylvia came & picked us up from Amsterdam Central Station (make sure you go out of the exit where the boats are - she will pick you up from the little lay-by on the left). She talked to us about how they are very proud of their boat & it's only been there for about a year & half & as soon as we pulled up I was absolutely not surprised that they are so proud! It is a very big & beautiful barge. The lovely little kitchen area was very well layed out & our room was exceptional! The bed was unbelievably comfortable. The decoration throughout is a modern finish & you can tell immediately that they look after it very well.

The breakfasts that we had on both mornings were yummy - the first morning was a full continental breakfast with croissants, cheeses & hams, jams, yoghurt & fruit...a great way to start my boyfriend's birthday (which Sylvia remembered...so that was also a lovely touch!) Breakfast on the Sunday morning was the traditional pancake option which was great - they were very tasty! There's is also a lovely little area on the top deck to sit & enjoy the very scenic, peaceful view.

Sylvia has 2 bikes available for 10 Euros a day - the barge is about a 10-15 min cycle into the town centre which is a great way to explore Amsterdam!

There are also these little cards on deck which give you free entry into some places & she has a great map that she can talk you through when you arrive too...very helpful & useful.

Our stay here was brilliant from start to end - Sylvia even gave us a lift to the station to finish off our wonderful trip nicely!

I would recommend staying here to anyone that says they are going to Amsterdam! It was just perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1 which was beautiful, but both rooms are just as good as each other I'm sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnmouth, Northumberland, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I had a business meeting in Amsterdam and took my wife. She booked the accommodation and, rather than pick a plush hotel in a shopping area, she booked B&B on De Dageraad a houseboat in the eastern docklands. What a great idea! I am always a bit of a sucker for life on the water and I expected to have to rough it but this was up at the 5* level. The boat itself has been fitted out both stylishly and professionally with all mod cons and is immaculately clean.

Theo and Sylvia go beyond anything you can reasonably expect - complimentary bottle of fizz, splendid breakfast, early starts as required and even a lift to the station. The other nice thing is that, despite the short tram hop, we didn't even feel the need to hit the town centre. The eastern docklands are quiet but full of interesting 'arty' destinations, boats to watch and excellent bars and restaurants - get T&S to recommend a few. We particularly liked Gare de l'Est, Puerto Pata Negra and KHL.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad

Address: Ertskade 2 | 1019BB, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay on the water in the Venice of the North: Amsterdam. This completely renovated B&B offers two luxury rooms with private bathrooms on this converted barge. The B&B has a private entrance on the boat, there is a breakfast kitchen for the guests, and you can enjoy the grand view of the eastern docklands on the deck terrace on a nice summer's day. Getting to and from the major highlights of Amsterdam (the canals, the museums) takes some easy 15 minutes by tram. Rental bikes are available at the ship. It is the perfect place to explore the city during the day and retreat to this peaceful B&B on the water for the night. If you arrive at the Central Station we can pick you up with our station wagon. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boat & Breakfast de Dageraad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.