We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Palmerston North, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Basic room but good for a few nights stay, reception was very helpful! A little noisey right infront of the trams but other than that great!!! Walls are quite thin... Theres a computer you can use whenever for free so thats a bonus

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    32
    20
    28
See reviews for
14
59
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed mid june, in the attic room. Very basic room but served me well. Very steep stair but its the norm for amsterdam. Hotel overall cleanliness was excellent. The vending machines were a life saver. There are some smoking rooms available, which is becoming harder to find. Located opposite the zoo! which is definitely worth a visit. The surrounding area is very pleasant. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Very good. We arrived very late, but the woker was waiting for us .
The woker was very kind. He told me that even after the next day when we checked out they could also keep our suitcase until 11pm.
The room is clean, quiet and confortable with a very big bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam very much with a big part of that being where we stayed. It was perfect location, homely cosy and the actual building was very cool. We couldn't of asked for better :) Also Rob the receptionist - very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. We had a very large room with 5 beds. Hotel was very affordable. Approx 20 min walk from centre. A little noisy with the tram stop right outside. Great hotel to crash in! Would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My friend and I, went to Amsterdam last minute and needed a cheap hotel, so we booked in at Hotel Plantage. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were standard but very clean which was nice. For what we were staying for, it was nice. The only problem is that is it a 20-25 minute walk to Dam Square. However, apart from that, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Quick easy book in ,attic room in middle no 36 ,few lights not working nor did our safe,rooms are basic but we only went room only anyway,beds were clean ,you don't get free Beveridges anymore they are 1Euro and the stairs are steep but you expect that in Amsterdam,and walls are very thin you hear everything ,traffic outside to is noisy,easy to get to tram no9 from central station to artis .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.