We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, Amsterdam 1018 CV, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Essex uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Good location about 15 min walk to dam square but there is a tram stop round the corner too. When first stepping in we did think what have we let ourselves in for but after getting into our room it wasn't too bad at all. Clean beds and clean room which is all we wanted for a girly trip to the city. A few bits were not working but nothing major. Recommend to anyone just looking for somewhere cheap but clean to stay whilst visiting the city.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    54
    44
    24
    30
See reviews for
12
46
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, de
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were very impressed with the friendly and helpful service. Don't judge this book by its' cover...the rooms are clean, beds comfortable, close to lots of dining options, and easy walk to the center of the city, and also public transportation via the trams! We were very happy to have stayed here. Yes, it has the typical Amsterdam staircases but it was an excellent value for the money.

Room Tip: We had room 23, it was spacious with refrigerator, and wardrobe. The tram does run on the street out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is good for you're paying for. It's not the ritz but its clean and comfortable. We stayed in an attic room and it was more than adequate. There are very steep stairs to negoiate. Its about a 10 min walk to dam square so its perfect for people who dont mind a bit of a walk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Worst hotel we have ever stayed in.The window would not close due to broken hinge.No wardrobe to hang clothes..Table lamps not working Generally run down hotel .Expensive . expected a lot more .asked at reception to see manager unfortunately he was not arround.We were the last to check in so may be we had the down and out rooms. Would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvesta, Sweden
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were a little bit worried when we read the reviews here (dirty, rude staff etc) but we decided to give it a go. So we booked the hotel and we had really low expectations when we got to Amsterdam. But we were really surprised when we arrived at the hotel!The staff was really nice, the hotel was in a lovely location, not many tourists and quiet but still very central. We got a balcony room (such a bonus!)wich was in the corner so we overlooked two sides of the street, it was a big room and a big balcony! Yes, the hotel is a bit old and torn, but I have seen worse! We saw a different side of Amsterdam than during our prievius stays in the city. Such a lovely neighberhood! If you need a place to stay, in perfect location (for us it was either way) in the center but still a little bit outside, this is the place. Many second hand stores and waterloopein around the corner.
+ Big room
+ Balcony
+ Smoking ok if you have a smokingroom
+ Location

- We missed the coffee and teafacility in the room, but you could get free hot drinks by the reception

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after reading other reviews we were worried but as it was cheap (around £145 gbp) we thought we would give it a try.
I am so glad we did, on the tram from centraal station it seemed ages away from Dam square and the coffee shops but it was litrally 15 mins walk.
The owner was lovely and helpful and couldnt help us enough.
We stayed in a loft room which was lovely and clean and very cosy, owner said we could smoke and smoke weed at our discretion.
There is a supermarket about 10 mins walk away & there a fridges in the room which is great for filling with drinks &munchies. It was a great stay and we are deffo booking again A++++++

Room Tip: If you want a nice quite clean comfy room go for the twin attic room (loft) although there are LOADS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, Amsterdam 1018 CV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.