We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give it 2 1/2 but wasn't an option” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“I'd give it 2 1/2 but wasn't an option”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

You get what you pay for, right? We stayed in an attic room. And thankfully had light luggage. We got there early and owner let us stow our luggage for the few hrs we needed before Checking in. There was no a/c in room so it was hot up there! I couldn't keep windows open due to the noise. (Light sleeper). We did find a fan. Shower backed up, filled w water. We had to ask for soap but owner quickly came up to fix that. Thankfully I did not come across bed bugs! I only stayed here 1 night. I probably would not stAy again.

Room Tip: Don't do the attic unless Its winter! ( it's hot w no a/c!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    48
    36
    20
    30
See reviews for
14
63
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Look it's not the Hyatt, so don't book this hotel if you are looking for that, if you want something economical, maybe you're driving into Amsterdam and you have a family, then consider this. Everything worked, the place is old and tired, but we wanted the location and didn't want to spend too much so you have to make sacrifices. Parked car securely 1klm away at parking owner has which was great. If you have a large car forget it as the driveway down is very tight and the bottom corner is sharp. I ad a Renault scenic and we just squeezed in. Hotel is secure with a key required to open entry door into hotel, stairs are steep, but we got one room slept 5 of us, everything worked and we didn't spend a great deal, so we are happy.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The title sums it up.

Bed bugs - check
Stained sheets - check
Filthy bathroom - check
Terrible service - check

The list could go on and on and on.

The Hotel was in a handy location, but that's where the positives ended.

I wouldn't even wish an attic room on my worst enemy. 12 months on and I still have the bed bug scars.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.
The reception personnel was very kind and helpful.
The room we received is a one bedroom for our family of five.
The room was very clean.
Tram is a step from the Hotel and few stations from the center.

Cons: Hard stairs to climb.

Restaurants near by:
Coffee to walk - great place for breakfast - other side of the street (Plantage Middenlaan 44-HS)
2 good Pizza places - cheap prices
1 Hamburger place - expensive

Room Tip: Try to receive a room in the reception's floor. Otherwise you need to climb up the stairs again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

well this hotel is not plush but suits the travelling down to the ground, warm rooms clean linen lovely staff and very private. my son and partner and I stayed there and it was so well situated. although we were in the attic rooms it was cosy and had to laugh everytime we went up and down to our rooms. there is no breakfast but the times we arrived and left if there had been breakfast we would have missed both. there are 2 lovely cafes for eating either side of the hotel door. the trams stop right there too. the little kebab shop a few doors down from the hotel was excellent. the zoo was opp our hotel. only disappointing thing was ann franks house lots of stairs and empty rooms. we loved our trip. the hotel does a transfer at the airport and they book it back for u when u pick a pick up time with reception. there is also a hot drinks machine which is free and sweets in baskets. lovely trip.

Room Tip: room 16 is lovely I had a peek in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time to the city so didnt know what to expected but the locatio turned out to be perfect - close enough to the centre to pop in and out, but far enough out its not all bright lights and loud noise :) nice neighbourhood and had lovely walk round the area.
Hotel itsself was lovely, it must of been quiet at the time as our room was upgraded and we had a massive room that would easy sleep 4 for the 2 of us. lovely big windows with a table to sit and watch the world go by
really friendly staff and helpful when ever we needed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Am willing to give this hotel a generous single star, just because its staff is helpful and friendly. These poor folks cannot help they have to offer customer service in this dumpy place. Being a business traveller with pleasant hotel experiences in mid-level category accommodations around the world, I expect that my toilet has actually been cleaned before I move into my room. It is also reasonably to expect that that the carpet is not ripped and the head rest panel of the bed is not split in two pieces. A quick run to the nearest IKEA and purchase of the cheapest furnishings would have been a better solution to the decay of this place than keeping the present furniture that seems to be picked up from the side of the road. Checked another room in the same hotel to see if it was any better but retreated quickly due to the atrocious smell. Let's not start expecting any breakfast facilities. All in all terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.