We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments with good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Save Saved
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Apartments with good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days.
The reception personnel was very kind and helpful.
The room we received is a one bedroom for our family of five.
The room was very clean.
Tram is a step from the Hotel and few stations from the center.

Cons: Hard stairs to climb.

Restaurants near by:
Coffee to walk - great place for breakfast - other side of the street (Plantage Middenlaan 44-HS)
2 good Pizza places - cheap prices
1 Hamburger place - expensive

Room Tip: Try to receive a room in the reception's floor. Otherwise you need to climb up the stairs again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    44
    30
    20
    28
See reviews for
13
56
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

well this hotel is not plush but suits the travelling down to the ground, warm rooms clean linen lovely staff and very private. my son and partner and I stayed there and it was so well situated. although we were in the attic rooms it was cosy and had to laugh everytime we went up and down to our rooms. there is no breakfast but the times we arrived and left if there had been breakfast we would have missed both. there are 2 lovely cafes for eating either side of the hotel door. the trams stop right there too. the little kebab shop a few doors down from the hotel was excellent. the zoo was opp our hotel. only disappointing thing was ann franks house lots of stairs and empty rooms. we loved our trip. the hotel does a transfer at the airport and they book it back for u when u pick a pick up time with reception. there is also a hot drinks machine which is free and sweets in baskets. lovely trip.

Room Tip: room 16 is lovely I had a peek in there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

First time to the city so didnt know what to expected but the locatio turned out to be perfect - close enough to the centre to pop in and out, but far enough out its not all bright lights and loud noise :) nice neighbourhood and had lovely walk round the area.
Hotel itsself was lovely, it must of been quiet at the time as our room was upgraded and we had a massive room that would easy sleep 4 for the 2 of us. lovely big windows with a table to sit and watch the world go by
really friendly staff and helpful when ever we needed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Am willing to give this hotel a generous single star, just because its staff is helpful and friendly. These poor folks cannot help they have to offer customer service in this dumpy place. Being a business traveller with pleasant hotel experiences in mid-level category accommodations around the world, I expect that my toilet has actually been cleaned before I move into my room. It is also reasonably to expect that that the carpet is not ripped and the head rest panel of the bed is not split in two pieces. A quick run to the nearest IKEA and purchase of the cheapest furnishings would have been a better solution to the decay of this place than keeping the present furniture that seems to be picked up from the side of the road. Checked another room in the same hotel to see if it was any better but retreated quickly due to the atrocious smell. Let's not start expecting any breakfast facilities. All in all terrible.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It was surprisingly pretty good, but then I went in with really low expectations. The room was large and clean, the bathroom was perfectly fine, and the bed was really comfy. What more do you need in Amsterdam when you spend 10 hours a day in the room - and for 9 of those hours, your eyes are closed (we don't have kids, so yes we sleep 9 hours a night).

The hotel is a bit outside of the center of town in a quiet neighborhood near the Resistance Museum (cool place, by the way). However, the light-rail line is just downstairs or it is really just a 10 minute walk to the enter of town.

ONE CAVEAT - BRING EARPLUGS. The walls are really thin in this place, you'll be happy you brought them. Oh and have coffee or lunch at the little cafe below the hotel on the corner - just great!

Room Tip: Room 12 was big and bright. It is just near the lobby though, so again - BRING EARPLUGS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

i've stayed here twice now, once in november 2011, and again in november 2012. And i have to say the first stay was A LOT better than the second. Service from staff is great, they're very helpful. They don't bother you in the morning to clean up your room, they simply ask you to tell them before 12 if you are wanting your room cleaned (they understand you may have late nights, and don't want to be woken up). First room we stayed in was an attic room, it was great, spacious and clean. The second time we booked a large attic room, however, ended up on the first floor, with a lot smaller room than we had payed for, which was gutting, but if you know what Amsterdam stairs are like, it saved us walking 3 flights of 'ladders'. Supermarket is a 10min walk, and to walk to the main part of where everything starts is 20mins max, if you don't fancy a walk it's only 2-4 euros into the middle part on a tram. A great hotel for someone who is looking for a basic room, costing a bit less than city centre hotels with a nice walk to the centre (you pass all the shops), good coffee shop on the corner near the bridge, friendly helpful staff.

p.s they have a free hot drinks machine with a moreish hot chocolate!!! (cheaper to buy drinks/snacks from vending machines in the hotel than in city centre) x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Plantage in Spring 2011. I found (like this review title implies) that the staff were friendly and helpful, the place was clean enough for the price range, and the location (near the botanical gardens) were all quite nice.

Room was quiet and clean (not new/spotless, but nothing to complain about), secure and correct. Frankly it was more a spot to sleep between enjoying Amsterdam's offering, but had I been stuck in the room I'd have no cause to complain.

Will stay again and/or recommend to friends!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.