We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend get away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Plantage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Plantage to your Saves list
Hotel Plantage
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Weekend get away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was a great place to stay on the cheap for a weekend away with the family of five! Our room was clean and very simple. I would stay here again!
The location made it possible to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    52
    40
    21
    31
See reviews for
14
65
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hotel is not the Ritz, it's basic, with very few extras. thats it for negatives.

I had a large room which was clean, I could smoke in my room, which is a benefit to me but may put some people off and the location is great, right by the zoo lots of retsurants, coffee shops and bars around.

The area is quiet but very close to everything. The staff where very helpful when asked for anything and where always friendly. I don't know why people moan about the stairs, they are narrow but being in Amsterdam so are most, look at the houses they are mostly narrow. Overall me and my girlfriend enjoed our stay and will return next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in June and having stayed in a few Amsterdam hotels chose to stay here again. We had room 23 this time having had the attic room before. Both stays have been pleasant and trouble free. We found the rooms clean enough and the service to be very friendly and helpful. I think you would struggle in amsterdam to find anything better in this price range. The stairs are narrow but not the worst and thats amsterdam stairs everywhere. Handy for transport although we walked everywhere and nothings that far away. Would definately recommend a visit to Het Ballonje only 400m away for some quality weed altho the older female bud tender is more friendly than the long haired guy. Always a good selection in here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. to say this is a hotel is stretching it, it is a house with rooms. no facilities or brekfast available, requested extra pillows and are still waiting! . Stairs are very steep, and narrow, we stayed in the attic room (50 steps @ 70 degree angle) which was tiny and has never seen a vacuum cleaner and bathroom rarely been cleaned. The check in staff were great but they must. be used to the disappointed faces when guests get to check-in. This "hotel" says it was completely refurbished in 2010, I think they should ask for their money back as they were ripped off!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great location (if you don't mind the mixed blessing of the trams), close to the old zoo, and a short ride into town.
If you can manage the steep stairs, this is a great value hotel, nice and informal.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This hotel is tired, very tired. Bedside lights didn't work, fridge just about worked, carpet was threadbare. BUT they did have a family room for five, which seem to be in short supply in Amsterdam. Shower was a wet room, so floor gets wet, which means socks get wet and shoes leave dirt on floor. Not unusual, but frustrating -- especially when five people are sharing the loo. Location makes it difficult to walk into the centre: you can do it but it's quite a hike (hotel is right next to the zoo). Streetcars are handy and frequent enough. Staff are friendly, though they seem to smoke constantly. I'd try to find a different hotel next time, but I'd settle for this if I had to -- just to get the five-bedded room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was my second time at the hotel. I chose it because it's a nice and unformal hotel in which you can smoke inside. I still like the hotel, even though I didn't like the room. It was right next to a tram line, so there was a lot of noise in the mornings. There was also a hole in the closet wall and I had to hold the shower myself. But the room was big and there are fridges in every room, which is nice. Nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plantage

Address: Plantage Kerklaan 25, 1018 CV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #226 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Plantage 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the greenest area in the centre of Amsterdam Hotel Plantage offers very comfortable rooms (private shower/toilet, TV, fridge) and apartments for a two star hotel: one single, 4 twins, 2 big rooms for 4/5 persons, one-bedroom- and two-bedroom apartment. Season, mid-week, longer stay discounts possible. Situated in a 130 years old former private dwelling in the beautiful eastern part of the centre called Plantage, which started in the 17th century as a garden, it now features the Amsterdam City Zoo "Artis" across the street from the hotel, 20 restaurants of different nationalities within 50 meters, Rembrandt House, Flee Market, Maritime Museum, Tropical Museum and more within walking distance. Four tramlines around the corner connect with other parts of the city within minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantage Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Plantage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.