We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel on one of the best spots in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 't Hotel

Save Saved
You added 't Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
't Hotel
Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel on one of the best spots in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed a long weekend in 't Hotel, situated on the lovely Leliegracht. We stayed before in Amsterdam, and noticed 't Hotel after our visit to Anne Frank house, walking along this nice canal.
When we arrived, the staff was so helpfull, not only they moved our luggage upstairs, but also they had a list with recommended restaurants (with a map of the town to show where the restaurant is located), and also helped us a lot with planning our trips in and around Amsterdam.
Our room overlooked the canal and was big! There was free wireless internet in the room, I hate to pay for this (sometimes you have to pay EUR 10,00...)! Very good, 't Hotel!
We would certainly return in 't Hotel, there is enough to explore in Amsterdam for a next visit.
't Hotel Amsterdam: highly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    48
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
60
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
short hills, NJ USA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was a disappointment. There was never anyone at the front desk when we needed assistance. The room was tired and old. The bathroom was minute. There was nothing chic or hip about the place. The top room did hold our family of 5 but we checked out after 1 night and found a room elsewhere of equal size.

Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
't Hotel, Manager at 't Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear 5 travelpros,

We regret to hear that you was not satisfied with our level of serivice. Unfortunately, during your stay, our cleaner had to go to hospital due to an accident.
Because of that, our reception was not always occupied, as the receptionist had to clean the rooms by himself that day. Normally our reception is open from 9 AM to 2100 PM to help our guest to find their way in Amsterdam.
Best regards
't Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

We loved our 2 night stay at the 't Hotel in the Jordaan neighborhood of Amsterdam. The location is absolutely perfect. The front desk staff was very helpful and accommodating during our visit. Our family of 4 stayed in the large guest room with a loft on the 3rd floor of this canal house/hotel. Breakfast was delicious! There are plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby. And we rented bicycles just a few blocks away from the hotel. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

I stumbled across this place on the internet because we wanted a Jordaan location. What a lucky break because the location is perfect and the hotel quaint, clean and reasonable prices. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with recommendations for dining. We will definitely return on our next trip to Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

We stayed at 't Hotel for 5 nights at the start of an 18-day trip through the Netherlands and Belgium. Although we got there early (before normal check-in), they were able to get us into our room after only a brief wait---which speaks to their level of customer service. Our room was spacious and comfortable, and since it was at the back of the hotel, it was very quiet (the neighborhood itself is comparably quiet, too). The breakfast buffet was good---typical Dutch fare, with a selection of cereal, bread, cold cuts and cheese, and juice, coffee, and tea.

While the accommodations at 't Hotel are great, one of the best things about the hotel is its excellent location: it's on a quiet street, a short walk to several great canalside cafes and excellent restaurants in the western canal belt and the Jordaan. The neighborhood is charming, friendly, and wonderful for strolling. It's also a relatively easy walk to Dam Square, the Red Light District, and other areas of central Amsterdam. Mass transit is also nearby, so it's easy to get around the city quickly, if you need to.

Overall, this is a great hotel---it's clean and comfortable, in a great location and at a good price, and run by friendly staff who are ready to help you out.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with friends after a Rhine River cruise. The hotel is cute, a typical old canal house conversion but more well-done than many others. The baths were generously sized as were the rooms. We had the top floor canal view room (the Leliegracht) which is an attic space. Our friends had the more elegant Prinsengracht; both had their own character and the views were lovely. The photos on the hotel's website are pretty accurate.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. One of our suitcases was caught up in the Icelandic ash problem and we had some emails back and forth trying to have it delivered to the hotel before our arrival. The staff was very responsive to our emails and request. Breakfast was in a basement space and was adequate, not expansive but sufficient to start the day.

The location is very convenient to good restaurants and a take-out pizza place that was always jammed. We would definitely consider staying here again if we return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

My husband and I planned to meet up with a few friends in Amsterdam for about 5 days. We had been to the city several times and knew not to stay in the overly touristy areas. The t'hotel is conveniently located to everything: transit, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc...

We ended up getting one of the rooms towards the back, while our friends got the canal rooms. I ended up being very jealous since the canal rooms were large and had great views. We didn't spend much time in our room so it didn't really matter.

The breakfast was served downstairs and very tasty. The owner was very friendly and helpful during our stay.

The only drawback was the slow/spotty internet and crappy cable. But otherwise, everything was great!

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.