We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The cutest hotel in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 't Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added 't Hotel to your Saves list
't Hotel
Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The cutest hotel in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ok, there isn’t an official ballot, but if there ever is, our money would be on t’Hotel. While you are walking along the cobblestone sidewalks from the train station to your hotel gazing over the impossibly cute canals, you look at all the canal houses from the Dutch Golden Age. You wonder what they look like inside and what it will be like to stay in one. Luckily, your answers are just minutes away.

t'hotel amsterdam interiort’Hotel is located along the quiet Leilegracht canal in the center of Amsterdam. The location can’t be beat-it’s close to everything, yet located on a peaceful canal. You’re just a few minutes’ walk from much of what makes this city famous — like the Anne Frank House and the Heineken Brewery, as well as the infamous Red Light District. This boutique hotel is in a canal house dating from the 1600s. The houses aren’t that big and neither is the hotel-it has only 8 rooms so book ahead. Way ahead. Rooms with a canal view cost a little more, so if that is something you have worked into your budget, go ahead and splurge. Otherwise, the rooms that do not face the canal are just as nice and their windows open to a courtyard.

When you check in, you will be shown to some pretty steep (though typical by Dutch standards) stairs that lead up to your room. If you get there before your room is ready, go ahead and leave your luggage with the friendly staff. They will hold it for you while you go grab some lunch-after all, you are probably starving after the long flight. The rooms are quite spacious by European standards, clean and comfortable. All rooms got a renovation in 2011, so they are in tip-top condition, and all have a toilet, shower, tub and sink en suite. There is a TV with some English language programming, but honestly, you are on vacation so you will either be out seeing the city and its surroundings or sleeping.

- See more at: http://love-and-adventure.com/thotel/#sthash.0b87WiC0.dpuf

http://love-and-adventure.com/thotel/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    54
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
66
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Xiamen, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

First time visit. Selected for good location, attractive appearance/view and fair price, all of which proved to be correct. Amsterdam is anyway delightful on foot and this place is less than a 15 minute walk from the Centraal station. However, if you're pulling a suitcase, just be prepared for the narrow, uneven pavements , so only if its in good condition and has robust wheels! Also if you're carting luggage (likely), then be well prepared for and aware of the very steep and narrow staircase in the hotel (no lift/elevator). My room was simple and functional but would have been irritating for a longer stay because of the limited furnishings. The curtains limited the view, light and fresh air coming into the room and the windows are heavy and difficult to open and latch. If the weather is good, be prepared for noisy nights, since there are plenty of late-night/early-morning people both local and visitors on the streets. The background noise is pleasantly low but that just means that their sounds can be obtrusive. Breakfast was good with a fair selection and quality, bearing in mind the lower price range of the guests. Staff were helpful, efficient, personable and friendly. Check-in/out was good.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the canal have an attractive view but can be noisy during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Me and my husband spent a lovely 4 nights stay in this family run hotel. Hotel itself is in calm and clean neighborhood with lots of restaurants and bars around - staff recommended us few of them. Hotel staff was gentle and they deserve very positive remark. They helped us with our luggage (stairs are very steep!), even after we checked-in when the reception was already closed. The breakfast is basic, but there is a good selection of breads, yogurts and cereals, we were not disappointed. The coffee was fabulous!
The room no.1, overlooking the canal was nice and clean. During our stay, the weather was tropical, however we had an air-condition in the room so it was alright during night. We had a king-size double bed, which was soft and comfortable, we requested pillows to be changed after the first night (too big - changed for two smaller ones).

We saw only 3 people working in the hotel during our stay, two young ladies and young gentleman who did our check-in late in the evening. We would like to thank all the staff. The receptionist Susan helped us with all our museum tickets and she was exceptionally helpful with our never-ending questions. On checkout day we were offered a luggage storage for free.

Only slight negative of this place are mosquitoes, we had to hunt them.

Room Tip: Ask for room 7, we saw it, and we will definitely stay there next time!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay following our cruise. Our room was not available as we arrived early but they kept our luggage which made it possible for us to venture out and take a canal ride. The hotel is in a very nice residential area. Dam Square and Central Stations was within a 15 walk, which we did every day of our visit. Breakfast selection in the morning was very nice. Our room was canal front and just loved sitting at night watching the activity of the boats traveling down the canal. Our room had a air conditioner which allowed us not to have to have the window open when we retired, which made for a great nights sleep. The room was a very good size, consisted of a King Size bed, desk and chair and 2 additional chairs to watch the world go by. The bathroom was very clean and large. Two good size closets and a room safe. The steps are steep but our luggage was already in our room when we returned. A small refrigerator and step up to make tea and coffee in your room as also available. The front desk clerk Peter was very helpful and printed off our boarding passes before we left. We did you the Connexx shuttle service from the airport to the hotel getting the roundtrip ticket was well worth it. 26.50 Euro per person for a roundtrip ticket. The service was prompt on both ends. The hotel is quiet never heard noise from the other guest and the hotel was fully booked.
The only negative part of our stay was one hotel employee, who I did not get her name, but she always seemed annoyed with us when we asked her anything. I think the establishment needs to find out what is causing her to have an attitude with their guest. On our last day Aug 6 she was getting the breakfast set up and we were leaving at 7:45. She never asked us if we would like to have something before we left. She knew the night before we were leaving and the offer to even give us a piece of bread before we left was never offered. We did not want her to take our luggage down the steep steps because she was slight in build and my husband didn't want her to deal with our heavy bags. She was annoyed with this and said she had better things to do then argue over this. Other then her attitude we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the hotel. Good value for Amsterdam, great location.

Room Tip: Canal room Seigel is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the 'T Hotel in the middle of July. It should be an easy walk from the Central Station, but because the pavements are narrow in Amsterdam, a suitcase will make the trip more challenging.

The room was nice, we did not have a canal view, but didn't go to Amsterdam to sit by the window. The maid had left one of his/her Windex, and several places were a little dusty. The bed was comfortable and large, but the duvets were synthetic and even if they were thin, they were too hot during the night. We had to keep the window open for fresh air, and woke up with plenty of mosquito bites. As Northeners, that didn't ruin the vacation. There was an electric kettle, coffee and tea in the room, as well as a wine-opener! But the mini-fridge was very noisy, so we had to shut it off. The room had a lot of wardrobe space, and a free safe that was easy to use.

The location couldn't have been better, Jordaan is by far the best part of the city. The area is calm, clean and without the huge amounts of party-tourists you will meet in other parts of the city.

We hired a couple of bicycles (got information on where to rent them at the reception), and were very happy with this: It is quick and easy to get around (both cars and pedestrians yield to bikes!), there are bicycle lanes everywhere, you feel a little like a local, and since it's flat as a pancake, it takes no effort at all to pedal. And you can stop and go everywhere, forget the confusing public transport maps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, only eight rooms, family-owned and operated. We were in room 7 overlooking the canal--many windows, beautiful view. Large room, large en suite bathroom. Fourth floor American, chair lift to the third floor. Small canal house steps, but we got used to them and the staff is wonderful about carrying luggage up and down, even when we checked out earlier than they normally operate. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. When we asked where the post office was, the woman volunteered that they had stamps of the correct denomination--so thoughtful. Very nice breakfast. Super location--we walked almost everywhere, and only five minutes from Dam Square's many tram stops. We also walked to the train station, a bit of a slog with luggage, but do-able. Airport shuttle bus worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent three nights here last week in May with my wife and two teenage sons. Had room 8; split level attic room with twin beds which are accessed by a ladder from the main room with double bed, fridge, widescreen TV, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facility, sitting area and en suite toilet and walk in shower. Steep, narrow access. No lift. Good hearty breakfast, friendly staff, quiet neighbourhood. Anne Frank House just around the corner and short scenic walk to Dam Square. Good value for money. Highly recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Address: Leliegracht 18, 1015 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.