We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming with great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 't Hotel

Save Saved
You added 't Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
't Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leliegracht 18, Amsterdam 1015 DE, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Charming with great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We enjoyed three nights at the 'T Hotel in the middle of July. It should be an easy walk from the Central Station, but because the pavements are narrow in Amsterdam, a suitcase will make the trip more challenging.

The room was nice, we did not have a canal view, but didn't go to Amsterdam to sit by the window. The maid had left one of his/her Windex, and several places were a little dusty. The bed was comfortable and large, but the duvets were synthetic and even if they were thin, they were too hot during the night. We had to keep the window open for fresh air, and woke up with plenty of mosquito bites. As Northeners, that didn't ruin the vacation. There was an electric kettle, coffee and tea in the room, as well as a wine-opener! But the mini-fridge was very noisy, so we had to shut it off. The room had a lot of wardrobe space, and a free safe that was easy to use.

The location couldn't have been better, Jordaan is by far the best part of the city. The area is calm, clean and without the huge amounts of party-tourists you will meet in other parts of the city.

We hired a couple of bicycles (got information on where to rent them at the reception), and were very happy with this: It is quick and easy to get around (both cars and pedestrians yield to bikes!), there are bicycle lanes everywhere, you feel a little like a local, and since it's flat as a pancake, it takes no effort at all to pedal. And you can stop and go everywhere, forget the confusing public transport maps!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    46
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
60
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Wonderful small hotel, only eight rooms, family-owned and operated. We were in room 7 overlooking the canal--many windows, beautiful view. Large room, large en suite bathroom. Fourth floor American, chair lift to the third floor. Small canal house steps, but we got used to them and the staff is wonderful about carrying luggage up and down, even when we checked out earlier than they normally operate. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful. When we asked where the post office was, the woman volunteered that they had stamps of the correct denomination--so thoughtful. Very nice breakfast. Super location--we walked almost everywhere, and only five minutes from Dam Square's many tram stops. We also walked to the train station, a bit of a slog with luggage, but do-able. Airport shuttle bus worked well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Spent three nights here last week in May with my wife and two teenage sons. Had room 8; split level attic room with twin beds which are accessed by a ladder from the main room with double bed, fridge, widescreen TV, air conditioning, tea and coffee making facility, sitting area and en suite toilet and walk in shower. Steep, narrow access. No lift. Good hearty breakfast, friendly staff, quiet neighbourhood. Anne Frank House just around the corner and short scenic walk to Dam Square. Good value for money. Highly recommended. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The location is superb, in a quiet, beautiful canal-side street, with interesting shops just next door and around, and great restaurants and bars in this part of Amsterdam. We walked everywhere, it's only a few minutes from the centre. Our room overlooked the canal, so we could watch the light on the water. The room was comfortable, not pretentious or "designed", but airy and spacious. The breakfast was good too. A nice relaxed place. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Danmark
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

this hotel was chosen, so we could stay in the middle of joordan, the great neighbourhood of amsterdam. the hotel turned out to be perfect, nice room, clean, coffee and tea in the room. nice breakfast served until 1030 as i remember, and really nice staff

i can recommend this hotel to all who wants to stay in amsterdam in the middle of everything

Room Tip: rooms to the back tend to be more quiet than rooms with canalview
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Edward County, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We arrived at 10:00 AM after a long overnight flight feeling tired. Our room was not ready but they were expecting us and offered to store our lugggage and give our room a priority for cleaning.We found a little restaraunt and had pancakes with strwberries and chocolate for breakfast. When we returned to the hotel our room was ready and all our luggage had been placed in our room for us., which was unexpected. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the canal and had a large comfortable bed 2 chairs a small table and a desk. The room was very comfortable and the service excellent. The free breakfast includes cereal, various breads, fruit, yogurt, deli meats and cheese, warm coissantss and fruit juices, coffee, tea.
This hotel is small, only 8 rooms and is family run and owned. The front rooms overlook a canal with huge windows that open. It can be a little noisy, especially on friday nights but we didnt mind as it didnt keep us awake. The stairs to the rooms are very steep and narrow, which is the standard in canal houses. Our room was lovely with real plaster mouldings and medallion on the ceilings, high ceilings and lots of architectural details. The bathroom was clean and the shower was hot and had good water pressure.
I would highly recommend this hotel to those seeking an authentic Amsterdam experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view if you dont mind the sounds of the city but enjoy a peaceful view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

It's very good place to stay in Amsterdam. Wonderful district: 15 minutes walking to Central Station or Red Line District, but here is a silent place. Good beds. Good breakfast for this level of hotels. My best recommendations.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Been to 't Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 't Hotel

Address: Leliegracht 18, Amsterdam 1015 DE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 't Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your 't Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.