We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 78, 1017WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Purley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I booked B&B Sleep with me for 2 nights from the 19th-21st July 2014 for my boyfriend's 21st birthday. Before we'd even arrived I got the impression that Antoine would be a brilliant host; offering to bake for my boyfriend on his birthday! I was right and, throughout our stay he was helpful, welcoming, could not do enough to help and his sense of humour was brilliant! True to his word, on my boyfriend's birthday he included a delicious apple tart complete with candle with breakfast… A real personal touch that made us feel completely welcomed and at home.

The breakfast was absolutely delicious and different every morning with two courses including, on one of the days, eggs, toast and smoked salmon followed by a kind of blueberry cake which I completely forgot to ask how he made! Alongside this was several different options of cereal, toast (a different type of bread each day) with butter and homemade jams (another warm, welcoming touch), orange juice, coffee and several different options of tea. This was all enjoyed in the cosy little breakfast room with the most relaxing music playing in the background (i had a Patsy Cline cover in my head the whole weekend!)

To be honest, the hosting and breakfast was so good that even if the room itself had been horrible, this would still be a rave review. However, it was not. We stayed in the Dinard room and it was beautiful. Big, comfy double bed, light and airy, kettle and various types of coffee by the bed so we could make coffee in the morning without even moving, a flat screen television that showed English and Dutch channels and a shower room!! As sad as it may be, I cannot rave enough about the shower! The room, and the B&B itself was decorated beautifully (I wish my house looked that good!), it felt classic and true to it's 15th century roots but at the same time modern, light and immaculately clean. The only thing I will say, and others have already mentioned it, is that the stairs are very steep. This is, however, typical in Amsterdam and wasn't an issue at all for us, although it may be for older customers.

The location was perfect. Right around the corner from the beautiful canals and pretty much central to everything, however far enough away to avoid the Red Light District and any noise.

We were incredibly sad to be leaving as we had felt so welcomed, comfortable and at home at B&B Sleep with Me and will not stay anywhere else should we return to Amsterdam! Thank you Antoine for making our trip so perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dinard room and it was absolutely perfect … Comfortable bed, immaculately clean, li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A very high standard of hospitality with a personal touch. Antoine made us feel at home straight away, so we could relax and enjoy ourselves. The house was a delight, so light and airy, we slept really well. We had the pleasure of three of Antoine's breakfasts, all immaculately and freshly cooked and delicious! Good quality restaurants and coffee shops just around the corner. Well located for all the major museums and the centre of the city. It was the perfect holiday. What a wonderful place to live!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Antoine was a wonderful host & served marvelous breakfasts - something different every day!
the house has been beautifully renovated and the room was very comfortable. Antoine went out of his way to refer us to a good neighborhood restaurant.
We truly felt at "home"

Bernie & Ruth

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son and I spent two nights in the top floor room of this beautifully renovated 1600s townhouse. The room was immaculate and modern, with a great shower, very comfortable beds, and other modern amenities such as TV, coffee/tea, etc. Owner and host, Jules, prepared delicious homemade breakfasts, and was thoughtful, engaging, warm, and accommodating about everything. Speaking with him felt like we were getting the inside scoop and personalized perspective of Amsterdam sites, restaurants, and more, which was fantastic.
The B&B's location is excellent, on a quiet street right off Utrechtsesstraat, one of Amsterdam's charming shopping/boutique streets, a two-minute walk to the tram #4, and down the block for the Amstel River.
One word of caution, because its age and historic status, the stairs are in their original setting and are extremely steep, almost at a vertical incline. Guests who may have a problem climbing stairs should take note of this.

Room Tip: The top floor room has vaulted ceilings and is quite roomy and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a 15 day transatlantic cruise we arrived in Amsterdam. What a treat is was to stay at Sleep With Me. Antoine and Jules were extremely helpful and gracious hosts. Both are very good cooks and would add a little something extra at each meal. Antoine's jokes about his "Frenchness" were a kick. There are some excellent restaurants and cafes right outside in this upscale neighborhood. All the good things people are noting here are true. We plan to return to Amsterdam next year and making a reservation at Sleep with Me will be high on our check-off list.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms so plan ahead. Narrow stairway but they will handle luggage so no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed with Antoine & Jules for 4 nights in March 2014.

We came quite early in the day and had arranged with the hosts that we could drop off our luggage and check in later. But Jules offered us a morning coffee, come in sit down and relax. We ended up having a good chat about what to chase up in the area, where's the best espressos, directions to an obscure building my architect husband needed to see (we would never have found it without Jules' assistance..).
This excellent care would turn out to be the hallmark of the entire stay. Our host also took time and effort to book tables for us in recommend restaurants during our stay, cook yummy breakfast, top notch cleaning, super conversation-makers - and leaving you alone at the same time:-)
We stated in the room with a separate toilet across the stairs. This was not a problem in any way. Ventilation of room during/after showering could be better, but hey - you're staying in a beautiful old house, so it's easy to forgive:-)
One thing left to say: GO!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Staying here was the best booking we made on our entire Euro trip. Yes, the location was perfect and yes, the room was spacious and well-decorated but the best part was the hospitality that Antoine and Jules offered. They went out of their way to help us research and plan every detail of our stay in Amsterdam. The breakfasts were awesome and we loved unwinding with them over a bottle(s) of wine and cheese after a long day of sightseeing. Needless to say, we were sad to leave and can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 78, 1017WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Utrechtsedwarsstraat (we truly can not help you pronouncing that!) you find this stylish, comfortable and luxurious bed and breakfast. The charming townhouse was completely renovated in 2011 retaining authentic elements and adding today's luxury and comfort. Most sights are within walking distance and you'll find a variety of fabulous bars and restaurants in every price range on your doorstep. Very typical of these Amsterdam house are the steep stair, which make it unsuitable for those with a physical handicap or for small children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.