We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Host” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me
Save Saved
You added Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me to your Saves list
Utrechtsedwarsstraat 78, 1017WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Perfect Host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

A very high standard of hospitality with a personal touch. Antoine made us feel at home straight away, so we could relax and enjoy ourselves. The house was a delight, so light and airy, we slept really well. We had the pleasure of three of Antoine's breakfasts, all immaculately and freshly cooked and delicious! Good quality restaurants and coffee shops just around the corner. Well located for all the major museums and the centre of the city. It was the perfect holiday. What a wonderful place to live!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
90
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Antoine was a wonderful host & served marvelous breakfasts - something different every day!
the house has been beautifully renovated and the room was very comfortable. Antoine went out of his way to refer us to a good neighborhood restaurant.
We truly felt at "home"

Bernie & Ruth

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My son and I spent two nights in the top floor room of this beautifully renovated 1600s townhouse. The room was immaculate and modern, with a great shower, very comfortable beds, and other modern amenities such as TV, coffee/tea, etc. Owner and host, Jules, prepared delicious homemade breakfasts, and was thoughtful, engaging, warm, and accommodating about everything. Speaking with him felt like we were getting the inside scoop and personalized perspective of Amsterdam sites, restaurants, and more, which was fantastic.
The B&B's location is excellent, on a quiet street right off Utrechtsesstraat, one of Amsterdam's charming shopping/boutique streets, a two-minute walk to the tram #4, and down the block for the Amstel River.
One word of caution, because its age and historic status, the stairs are in their original setting and are extremely steep, almost at a vertical incline. Guests who may have a problem climbing stairs should take note of this.

Room Tip: The top floor room has vaulted ceilings and is quite roomy and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After a 15 day transatlantic cruise we arrived in Amsterdam. What a treat is was to stay at Sleep With Me. Antoine and Jules were extremely helpful and gracious hosts. Both are very good cooks and would add a little something extra at each meal. Antoine's jokes about his "Frenchness" were a kick. There are some excellent restaurants and cafes right outside in this upscale neighborhood. All the good things people are noting here are true. We plan to return to Amsterdam next year and making a reservation at Sleep with Me will be high on our check-off list.

Room Tip: There are only two guest rooms so plan ahead. Narrow stairway but they will handle luggage so no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed with Antoine & Jules for 4 nights in March 2014.

We came quite early in the day and had arranged with the hosts that we could drop off our luggage and check in later. But Jules offered us a morning coffee, come in sit down and relax. We ended up having a good chat about what to chase up in the area, where's the best espressos, directions to an obscure building my architect husband needed to see (we would never have found it without Jules' assistance..).
This excellent care would turn out to be the hallmark of the entire stay. Our host also took time and effort to book tables for us in recommend restaurants during our stay, cook yummy breakfast, top notch cleaning, super conversation-makers - and leaving you alone at the same time:-)
We stated in the room with a separate toilet across the stairs. This was not a problem in any way. Ventilation of room during/after showering could be better, but hey - you're staying in a beautiful old house, so it's easy to forgive:-)
One thing left to say: GO!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Staying here was the best booking we made on our entire Euro trip. Yes, the location was perfect and yes, the room was spacious and well-decorated but the best part was the hospitality that Antoine and Jules offered. They went out of their way to help us research and plan every detail of our stay in Amsterdam. The breakfasts were awesome and we loved unwinding with them over a bottle(s) of wine and cheese after a long day of sightseeing. Needless to say, we were sad to leave and can't wait to return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I have just got back from a fantastic 3-night stay with the lovely Antoine and Jules at Sleep With Me. It's almost a bit daunting to know where to start with our praise, so I'll try and cut to the chase:

Location: Excellent - an easy short 10 minute tram ride from Centraal Station, around the corner from the beautiful Prinsengracht canal.

Building: Stunning - we had the top-floor room, which is even better in real life than the photos on their website. The high ceilings were great for me, being 6'4" (1.90m). The bed was huge and incredibly comfy, the bathroom is stylish and the whole place was absolutely spotlessly clean.

Breakfast/The Hosts: This goes hand-in-hand. We were given a very warm welcome by Jules, who let us check in a little bit early which really was appreciated. Thereafter Antoine the talented Frenchman was our gracious host and chef. We were treated with a varied and always delicious selection of treats for each breakfast, including a homemade apple tart with a candle in it for our wedding anniversary breakfast, which was so sweet (literally!) and thoughtful. The breakfasts were easily in the top three of the best I've ever had in any of my travels - and I've stayed in literally hundreds of hostels, guesthouses, and hotels over the years.

But whilst the location, building, and room were all excellent, it definitely was the hosts which made Sleep With Me extra special - just the little things, like Antoine noticing that I was browsing a book of photography one breakfast, and going and getting a few more books from his personal collection to share, and leave in our room for us to look through later. And offering to print out our flight boarding passes for us before we even thought of needing to do so.

All in all we cannot praise Sleep With Me enough - we will be recommending to all of our family and friends, and truly hope to come back to visit again in the not too distant future!

Thank you for everything
Adam (& Alex)
xx

Room Tip: Our top floor room was stunning. Be prepared for a climb up 3 almost vertical floors, but the room a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me

Address: Utrechtsedwarsstraat 78, 1017WH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Utrechtsedwarsstraat (we truly can not help you pronouncing that!) you find this stylish, comfortable and luxurious bed and breakfast. The charming townhouse was completely renovated in 2011 retaining authentic elements and adding today's luxury and comfort. Most sights are within walking distance and you'll find a variety of fabulous bars and restaurants in every price range on your doorstep. Very typical of these Amsterdam house are the steep stair, which make it unsuitable for those with a physical handicap or for small children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Sleep With Me, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.