We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check your reservation and the room/houseboat before you pay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Farum, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Check your reservation and the room/houseboat before you pay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had problems already when making the reservation here. First there was what we wanted, a large flat for 4 people. Then there was not. Then the reservation was changed to one of their houseboats. Great for the kids we thought. When we arrived they offered 3 night on a houseboat for the same price. Great we thought. But not at all! The houseboat was located far from the hotel. Not as indicated on their webpages. The houseboat was surrounded by floating garbage, and was itself not pleasant. It was smelling and as the night came, so did the rain from the roof into the master bed. We companied to their emergency number, to the reception and to the owner. Agreed to move to another hotel, we found ourselves, but now they have charged us for the full stay anyhow! Terrible experience. We are trying to get our money back now.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    83
    41
    22
    17
See reviews for
22
99
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

This is a very nice hotel with excellent view of a canal for most of the rooms. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The breakfast is quite good also.

On the down side (but less important than the up side) the hotel could do with some upkeep. Also, the rooms are small. Perhaps there could be some rooms with just one single bed for solo travellers since the size of a small room becomes even smaller when a huge bed (unnecessary for business travellers) is taking up 70% of the floor space.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights, we paid 315 euros, our own fault we booked on last minute so couldn't find cheaper price, it was also public holiday in holland. We got the canal view room, tiny room, & tired looking.

The service was great, very friendly and helpful staff, first night breakfast was free and so delicious wide selection of food. Location is good, near the flowemarket and in the quiet street.

If the rooms were better, I'd love to stay in this hotel again due to the great services and location, but to me rooms are very important and for the price you pay it's not good enough.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A vast window out from the comfortable big bed, looking over the Amstel.

Good breakfast (though it only came with one nights accomodation, which suprised me).

The staff are helpful. Even the cleaner remembered to leave extra tea when I asked!

Happy to return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed here, based on the recommendation of her parents who had stayed there over 2 years prior (who knew it as the Hotel Eureka). We did not use an agency, we booked directly with them on the day of our arrival. (amsterdamhouse.c o m just call them on skype, its just better) All they had available was a double room at the back of the hotel and it cost us 120 Euro for the night (including the incredible breakfast, which is free for the first day you stay there)
The room was a little small but was very cute and cosy. The bathroom was clean but also quite small. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the guy who worked in the morning serving the breakfast, he seemed eager to make a good impression. (and he did)
The location is great overlooking the Amstel and its nice and quite outside at night but still very close to all the action of Amsterdam. Its also important to note that its one of the few boutique hotels that has an elevator, which really is necessary due to the incredibly narrow stairwells in Amsterdam.
I would definitely stay here again but I'd book a little more in advance in order to secure a canal view.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel. It's probably not for everyone - if you only like modern, minimalist hotels with bright or neutral furnishings, this is definitely not for you, but I thought it was the most charming, friendly hotel I've ever stayed in and just bursting with personality. They have shabby chic down to a fine art (whether by accident or design - who cares?).

The location is superb - couldn't have been better for us, everything was in walking distance. We paid on average €95 per night through hotels.com and then paid the obligatory government tax on arrival. Our room was a nice size, with loads of light coming through two large windows facing the canal, a table and 2 chairs, a flatscreen TV and they had DVDs available to borrow downstairs for free. (I agree with the other review warnings about taking care to get a canal-facing room though, I wouldn't have liked to be in a back room at all.) The bed was sooo comfortable - could hardly believe it, slept like a log, it spoiled us because we moved on to another city afterwards and an uncomfortable hotel bed and we were barely able to sleep at all! For breakfast, they had all the breads, cereals, salad, cold meat, cheese & eggs you wanted, plus tart and pastries for dessert, and it's a really nice touch that they give you a free breakfast the first morning - we ended up having breakfast there again on the 3rd morning because of it.

Granted, there is a very strong smell of smoke (both types) in the corridors, but I don't see how the hotel's management or staff are going to police guests who insist on smoking - it's just not that type of place. We informed them about a problem with the hot water on the first morning (there wasn't any) but by the time we'd finished breakfast downstairs a half an hour later they'd already got a plumber/handyman in and fixed it. It suited us down to the ground, was exactly what we wanted, was very romantic in a old-world way, and I'd go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights, the staff are VERY helpful and polite. The hotel itself is a bit shabby, the corridors and rooms smell of smoke which in this day and age really is a surprise!! We had a canal view room which was nice, Room 34. The room had a nice size bed and the bedding was clean and it was comfortable. The decor of the room could do with attention, the window sills and frames need a coat of paint, the bed side lights and ceiling light need updating. There is a flat screen tv though and they have dvds you can watch from their collection. The bathroom needs tidying up and the walls need demoulding. The whole room could do with a bit of TLC. We paid £196.66 for the 2 nights so to be honest this was expensive for the standard of the room. They do give you a free breakfast the 1st morning then after that 10 Euros each. Its a substantial breakfast, with cereals, breads, hams, cheese, make your own omlettes or eggs, juice, coffee. The staff are really very helpful and its just a shame the room wasn't a bit nicer because it could be a quaint little place if they stopped the smokers and tidied up the decor. They have free internet access via their lounge computer too. If location is what you want then this is the place, if luxury is important then this is not. We did despite the decor, have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.