We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL IS GETTING DIRTY AND UNCONFORTABLE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
PARIS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“HOTEL IS GETTING DIRTY AND UNCONFORTABLE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed in this charming hotel 3 times, so I decided to come back and invited some mexican friends: a nightmare !!!!!
Dirty and not confortable
Hopefully, the boy and the lady at the front desk was very helpfull and also help us to connect with wifi as no way to connect in the public areas as mentioned ! hotel permit guests to smoke, so you can be close to some smoking rooms ! the did not changed the water of the flowers in the room: so a bad smell!
there is not control of the rooms after each check out! unbelivable !! so all the plugs were out of service, the rooms not cleaned properly, and since a while !! windows very dirty, with lots of cigarettes outside of it ! they need a new management !!!!urgently, too bad for this charming hotel nice located !

Room Tip: The rooms facing the canal are more pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    74
    41
    21
    16
See reviews for
21
90
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We enjoyed the very nice people. The rooms were clean and nice. We ahd beautiful view of the canals. The location was perfect. We traveled all day and the hotel was always nearby for a stop to drink or refresh.



  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

How do you rate a place like this. So many permutations. Firstly I didn't want to spend €145 for a night in a hotel and I also wanted car parking (practically impossible in the Dam for under €150). So I got a hotel for €145 without parking but hey, it was late and we wanted to plot up. I managed to get the car almost outside and that's €4 an hour in the Dam up to midnight and after 9. Make sure you pay for the morning the night before or your car will be gone.
Back to the hotel. The best hotel I have ever stayed in but only for the following reasons! We were in the annexe just round the corner which seemed to be 3 rooms over 3 floors. Nobody else was present so the guv just gave me the key for the front door, asked me to open the windows if I smoke and off he went. We had a 3 floor town house in the middle of the Dam for €145, who can complain? The building is excellent. loads of wood inside, big opening balcony doors/windows. Full kitchen. Feels like more of a home than a hotel. Loved it and thanks to the french chap that was working that night.

Room Tip: Get the annexe round the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

A clean small friendly hotel close to the centre. Although quite a small bedroom the bed was extremely comfortable to rest weary legs. The help given by the owners In choosing places to go on a short visit was invaluable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Despite clever photos posted on the website, our room was so small we had to put the waste paper basket in the bathroom to move round the bed. There was no space for our cases. Having stayed in tiny rooms in New York, Paris etc, at least they were chic. This was Just grotty, dirty, with jumble-sale furniture. Torn curtains, electrical wiring out of the wall joined with insulating tape. TV didn't work and I told them on the first morning, but they did nothing about it. They made us pay in advance for the full stay, presumably because others have jumped ship. This hotel relies on its location, which is excellent, but we were desperate to check out. It spoiled our stay in Amsterdam.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

If you decide to stay at this hotel, I never would again, check the room before you take it! The hotel is tired and neglected and needs money spent on it. The staff were friendly and breakfast was ok. We never saw the manager or owner to mention the poor cleanliness of the room , which was very expensive for it's condition. I think the hotel thrives on the location.

I can't imagine how the "excellent" award has been given by Trip Advisor, have you been there?

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.