We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Fremont, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Eureka is in a great location. Located on the Amstel river canal in the city center. My wife and I have stayed here 6 times and we love everything about this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable. They serve a great breakfast. The staff is very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    70
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
20
88
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I, joined by our adult daughter, stayed here 3 nights in early October. We had arranged for two separate rooms. When we arrived, only one of the rooms was available, as the other had to have the lock replaced. We left our luggage in the available room, and went for a stroll and beer in the lively neighborhood. Upon our return, our daughter had arrived, but the other room was still not ready. The management proposed that we take the adjoining apartment, for the same price as the two rooms (which we had already paid for). We were glad we did. Although it was up two steep flights of stairs, it was very large, and had a terrific view of the Amstel canal. It is not beautifully furnished, but it was very comfortable---both sofas and beds. We really did not use the galley kitchen, but did make coffee in the morning. We received a complimentary breakfast (not included in the tarif) because of the situation, which was very good. The location is superb, near Rembrandtplein and Muntplein--from which one can catch the tram to the Centraal station or to museums. Lots of stores, resturants and pubs in the area. Although we did not stay in the hotel proper, the room we did see was quite small, but nicely decorated; bathroom --I peeked---was just fine. I do hope to return to Amsterdam; we will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Main hotel friendly, compact. If you are put in the newly aquired house at the back then be prepared for dirty bathroom, entrance, previous owners left over belongings (including dog bed kitchen bits post) and to be left to it with no room service for five days unless you ask for it to be cleaned.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This hotel is well situated, close to the the city's vibrant clubs and bars, but it's located in a quiet street on a canal, so it's a great place to start and end the day in tranquility. The staff are very friendly and the breakfast is delicious and served till midday. The rooms are on the smaller side but clean. A pleasant place that's just what you need for a few days' stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center, but in a calm street next to the canal.
The main entrance is very nice, immediately gives a warm welcome. In front of the hotel you can just sit and relax, surrounded by petunias.
The room what we had was very small, and a bit dark (the ones without canal view, 1st floor) the shower needs to be renovated, and in one of our rooms the bed was too soft and creaky.
The staff is very helpful, breakfast is also very well done and abundant, however unusually you have to pay everything in advance at the time of arrival, even before checking the rooms and services!
Don't hesitate to choose the room with canal view! It is incomparable with the others even if the price is a bit higher!
We will definitely return, like the grey heron does each afternoon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.