We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

255 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    95
    38
    21
    15
See reviews for
20
86
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is very well situated, close to the city center, but in a calm street next to the canal.
The main entrance is very nice, immediately gives a warm welcome. In front of the hotel you can just sit and relax, surrounded by petunias.
The room what we had was very small, and a bit dark (the ones without canal view, 1st floor) the shower needs to be renovated, and in one of our rooms the bed was too soft and creaky.
The staff is very helpful, breakfast is also very well done and abundant, however unusually you have to pay everything in advance at the time of arrival, even before checking the rooms and services!
Don't hesitate to choose the room with canal view! It is incomparable with the others even if the price is a bit higher!
We will definitely return, like the grey heron does each afternoon :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is hotel is rather shabby but makes up for this by the warm welcome from the staff. We were upgraded with out asking to a canal view room and told breakfast on the first morning was complimentery! this was a very pleasent surprise and they served it until lunch time which ment we really had it for lunch as we are late sleepers.The rooms are small but this traditional in a typical tall amsterdam building. the location was also excellent just a short stroll to rembrant square. it is also a very quiet area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Dear administrator,
unfortunately we found the hotel very expensive for what it offers in comfort. The twin bedroom was super small and can barely put our luggage. Moreover, during the five days we hosted, the floor of the room and the bathroom was never cleaned. The positive side was that we had wifi in the room and with very good sign.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol united kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Very friendly staff, lovely relaxing hotel. Accomodation was very good, we had triple room on 2nd floor and we over looked the canal. Lovely wet room, which was big enough. We had a complimentary breakfast on the first morning which was a welcome bonus!! Very close to Rembrant Square just a short walk over the bridge and you are there. The surroundings were pretty quiet when we were there, but maybe in the summer it might be a bit more noiser. The tram stop was in Rembrant Square so only a short walk away. Clean sheets and towels. Very clean room. Very friendly staff they were very helpfull. Good luggage facilities before and after our stay, they have a lock up room, which was very convienent. All in all , a very good middle price hotel to stay in. Very nice toilitries in the shower room. Coffee and tea facilities in the room

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal, very pretty. We had complimentary breakfast first day which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

A fantastic location on The Amstel. Very close to Muntplien and Rembrandt square and is only a 10 minute walk from Dam Square. This is the place to stay if you are looking for small group (5 beds)self catering accommodation on the water.
Very comfortable and clean with a warm welcome at Amsterdamhouse Hotel on checking in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #161 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.