We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming,Friendly, Good Location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Welcoming,Friendly, Good Location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We arrived at the Eureka early in the morning after a long flight, and were given the warmest friendliest welcome by Paolo who offered us luggage storage, and a lovely breakfast until our room was ready. the breakfast spread was impressive, with a hotplate to cook your own eggs on, ready made eggs still warm and delicious, croissants, pastries, hams, jams and cheeses, coffee to order.Breakfast room was charming with well laid tables, lamps and library shelf, including guide books. Our canal view room was small but cute, clean and everything worked and we had windows that opened. Good comfy bed. We had bought a 3 day transport ticket, but discovered that we didn't really need it as everything we wanted to see was within walking distance. Over our whole trip, this hotel and especially Paolo and the other staff here stand out as the most helpful and welcoming. We would absolutely stay here again. Yes, the rooms are small, but that's the way it is in these classic buildings in Amsterdam. Also the hotel wifi worked.
I would recommend the canal walk as suggested in Eyewitness Amsterdam guide for anyone interested in the architecture of Amsterdam & Stedelijk Museum (modern art, textiles and design)

Room Tip: it was worth paying a little extra for the canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    84
    41
    22
    17
See reviews for
22
100
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The location was quite good you can walk to the attractions, but the hotel is not really clean and very noisy. The rooms are not too big, and not too clean, but the price is good, so you can say too much about that.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location, we could walk to most attractions. Staff were friendly. We had a canal view room but it was really noisy, especially on the weekends, as the windows are only single paned. As well, noise seems to travel across the canals and noise from a bar across the canal was easily heard in our room. Sounds from the other rooms and hallway were also easily heard in our room. The sheets were clean and we got clean towels every day but apart from making the bed, there was no vacuuming or other cleaning apparent (I looked at the same bit of plastic on the floor, and left it there, for the whole week wondering if it would get taken care of - when we checked out it was still there) - in our room or in common areas.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a top floor room, and felt we were going to roll out of the bed in the night, as the floor was slanted. Looking at the building a round us, quite a lot looked the same. A few books under the bed legs sorted that problem out. It has not put me of staying at this hotel again. If you are in Amsterdam for a few days, it is worth buying a 3 day Tram ticket.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

3 day stay was really pleasant. Hotel staff fantastic and very helpful,couldn't do enough for us.Top floor room quite small but we were moved to a larger,brighter front of hotel room so ask for one of these if you go. Location was very good and only a short walk to main city centre attractions. Recommend hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

we enjoyed the time living in that hotel.
the staff was very friendly.
they serve an excellent breakfast.
you can reach the center in a few minutes by walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#133 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Nes
Hotel Nes
#262 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#197 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#115 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.