We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Houseboat Otto” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Stamford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Houseboat Otto”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Friendly welcome on arrival at the Amsterdam House Hotel where we had to pick up the keys for the houseboat. It would have been helpful if the proprietor had briefed the taxi driver on how to find the houseboat as we spent ages trying to find it as the taxi costs were going through the roof! On arrival at the houseboat my heart sank. It was very shabby on the outside with overgrown weeds and peeling paint. Inside was also a disappointment. The houseboat stank of stale cigarette smoke and as none of us were smokers it was very unpleasant. Things that didn't work - no light in the bathroom - which was interesting on the first night! no ceiling lights worked at all apart from one in a small hall. Lack of curtains and very stained and dirty curtain in one bedroom which was not nice - see picture. The location was awful - right next to a very noisy road intersection and bridge - see picture. Something that, of course, is not mentioned on the website. The noise was extremely loud and went on way past midnight. I could hear it even with ear plugs in!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    70
    36
    21
    15
See reviews for
20
88
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Charming hotel overlooking the Amstel River with a lovely breakfast room which can be used for relaxing in the afternoon, and perusing the many books available. Only down side is the street noise on the week end but then we are an older couple who goes to bed early! Staff was very helpful, especially, Will, who always was available when we need assistance and also played great music! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to everything! 5 minutes to flower market, 20 minutes to Museumsplein, 10 minutes to Kalverstraat.. Also many nice restaurants close to the hotel. But, the hotel is very "worn out". Our room was dusty, the beds was "bumpy", the walls, lamps and chairs were visibly old and not in a good standard. The same goes for the bathroom, where the painting was falling off.. The walls, door and windows are very thin, so it is very noisy, especially during nighttime - because of the central location. When there are people in the hall outside the room talking, it feels like they actually are inside your room. The canal-view is nice though.. The breakfast is also nice and basic. This hotel has a lot of potential! The owners should really upgrade it, at least throw away broken lamps, bumpy mattresses (which for some reason was covered in plastic..) and visibly broken furniture.. The staff is very friendly and helpfull! But, I'm sorry to say that I would not stay here again, until the rooms have been totally refurbished.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in the end of the hallway - these are small and narrow. Second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Try getting a front room with view-worth the extra euros!Much bigger and nicer!Good service and helpful for directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The location is perfect, and the best thing about the hotel. The staff is also very friendly. Our room was small, and could need some renovation, but for that price our expectations were low so we did't mind.

Would certainly consider staying here next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is within comfortable walking distance from the station and has a canal-side central location. Although the room had a canal-view, that did not make up for a small room with too much furniture. No double glazing and thin walls made it rather noisy and the bed was not very comfortable. We asked for a sink plug on the first day, but none materialised and the fan in the ensuite didn't work so everything got wet and steamy when having a shower. Breakfast was very disappointing, and would have been 10 euros per person extra after the first morning - certainly not worth it when excellent breakfasts were available from restaurants in the locality.
This hotel could be great (after all, it has a great location) but it looks and feels very tired and is definitely in need of some modernisation - when we visit Amsterdam again we will be looking for a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located. It is close to everything. The staff are friendly and full of advise. Rooms are small but we learnt from a tour guide this is normal in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.