We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Charming hotel overlooking the Amstel River with a lovely breakfast room which can be used for relaxing in the afternoon, and perusing the many books available. Only down side is the street noise on the week end but then we are an older couple who goes to bed early! Staff was very helpful, especially, Will, who always was available when we need assistance and also played great music! We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    75
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
21
93
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Stayed here for three nights. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to everything! 5 minutes to flower market, 20 minutes to Museumsplein, 10 minutes to Kalverstraat.. Also many nice restaurants close to the hotel. But, the hotel is very "worn out". Our room was dusty, the beds was "bumpy", the walls, lamps and chairs were visibly old and not in a good standard. The same goes for the bathroom, where the painting was falling off.. The walls, door and windows are very thin, so it is very noisy, especially during nighttime - because of the central location. When there are people in the hall outside the room talking, it feels like they actually are inside your room. The canal-view is nice though.. The breakfast is also nice and basic. This hotel has a lot of potential! The owners should really upgrade it, at least throw away broken lamps, bumpy mattresses (which for some reason was covered in plastic..) and visibly broken furniture.. The staff is very friendly and helpfull! But, I'm sorry to say that I would not stay here again, until the rooms have been totally refurbished.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room in the end of the hallway - these are small and narrow. Second or third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Try getting a front room with view-worth the extra euros!Much bigger and nicer!Good service and helpful for directions.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

The location is perfect, and the best thing about the hotel. The staff is also very friendly. Our room was small, and could need some renovation, but for that price our expectations were low so we did't mind.

Would certainly consider staying here next time I'm in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

This hotel is within comfortable walking distance from the station and has a canal-side central location. Although the room had a canal-view, that did not make up for a small room with too much furniture. No double glazing and thin walls made it rather noisy and the bed was not very comfortable. We asked for a sink plug on the first day, but none materialised and the fan in the ensuite didn't work so everything got wet and steamy when having a shower. Breakfast was very disappointing, and would have been 10 euros per person extra after the first morning - certainly not worth it when excellent breakfasts were available from restaurants in the locality.
This hotel could be great (after all, it has a great location) but it looks and feels very tired and is definitely in need of some modernisation - when we visit Amsterdam again we will be looking for a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located. It is close to everything. The staff are friendly and full of advise. Rooms are small but we learnt from a tour guide this is normal in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lompoc, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

When we initially arrived we thought the hotel was closed as the door was locked and inside the building was dark. On the front door it stated it was the Hotel Amsterdam, but we soon found out the actual hotel was a little further down the walk. The door we tried to open turned out to be an old office/storeroom area. I suggested they put an arrow on this door to show where the actual hotel was so tourists like us and others we saw didn't get confused.

When we arrived the hotel was putting in a new boiler and they told us it would be a couple hours before we had hot water. But unfortunately, that was not true and we were not able to take a hot shower until the following day. Initially our room was to be on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal but when my husband opened the door it was already occupied! We were given another room on the 3rd floor which was clean and everything decorated in RED. (We were compensated for our room mix-up by getting the 2nd day's breakfast for free.) The room was large enough with wood flooring, a king size bed and another single bed, a wardrober, free internet, a TV, desk, chair, 2 nightstands one on each side of the bed, and 2 big windows that overlooked the canal. The bathroom was long and narrow but clean. The shower was great once we had hot water.

There is an elevator (lift) which was somewhat scary to go into (at least for me) as it was old and small, and I was afraid of getting stuck in it (we never did). So I took the narrow, curvy staircase up to our room instead. This hotel is rather old and could use a face lift and updated furnishings but it had a somewhat homey feel to it.

Breakfast was free your first day and after that it cost 10 euros. After our 2 days free we went elsewhere to eat as we didn't feel it was worth the money. It was mainly a continental style breakfast with pastries and cereals but you could make your own eggs if you wanted to. with fresh coffee and assorted teas. The staff manning the desk were very nice, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the city center. On our last night we asked the staff to get us a taxi for our early departure and one was waiting for us. We could not have been happier.

So overall it was a nice stay with a few quirks but in a good location. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what floor you're on, you can still hear doors being closed and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.