We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Amsterdam House Hotel to your Saves list
Amsterdam House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This hotel is very centrally located. It is close to everything. The staff are friendly and full of advise. Rooms are small but we learnt from a tour guide this is normal in Amsterdam.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    76
    41
    22
    16
See reviews for
21
94
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lompoc, CA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

When we initially arrived we thought the hotel was closed as the door was locked and inside the building was dark. On the front door it stated it was the Hotel Amsterdam, but we soon found out the actual hotel was a little further down the walk. The door we tried to open turned out to be an old office/storeroom area. I suggested they put an arrow on this door to show where the actual hotel was so tourists like us and others we saw didn't get confused.

When we arrived the hotel was putting in a new boiler and they told us it would be a couple hours before we had hot water. But unfortunately, that was not true and we were not able to take a hot shower until the following day. Initially our room was to be on the 2nd floor overlooking the canal but when my husband opened the door it was already occupied! We were given another room on the 3rd floor which was clean and everything decorated in RED. (We were compensated for our room mix-up by getting the 2nd day's breakfast for free.) The room was large enough with wood flooring, a king size bed and another single bed, a wardrober, free internet, a TV, desk, chair, 2 nightstands one on each side of the bed, and 2 big windows that overlooked the canal. The bathroom was long and narrow but clean. The shower was great once we had hot water.

There is an elevator (lift) which was somewhat scary to go into (at least for me) as it was old and small, and I was afraid of getting stuck in it (we never did). So I took the narrow, curvy staircase up to our room instead. This hotel is rather old and could use a face lift and updated furnishings but it had a somewhat homey feel to it.

Breakfast was free your first day and after that it cost 10 euros. After our 2 days free we went elsewhere to eat as we didn't feel it was worth the money. It was mainly a continental style breakfast with pastries and cereals but you could make your own eggs if you wanted to. with fresh coffee and assorted teas. The staff manning the desk were very nice, friendly and very accommodating. The hotel is in a good location, within walking distance to the city center. On our last night we asked the staff to get us a taxi for our early departure and one was waiting for us. We could not have been happier.

So overall it was a nice stay with a few quirks but in a good location. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't think it matters what floor you're on, you can still hear doors being closed and peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We recently spent 8 nights at this hotel and were very pleased. The location, right on the Amstel Canal, was ideal and close to everything. Granted the rooms are small, but our 3rd floor room with a view of the canal made up for it! We ended up eating breakfast at the hotel several times because it was appealing and substantial and if you looked at how much other restaurants in the area charge just for coffee, the hotel rate was very reasonable. The hotel was charming and relaxing, not pretentious.

The best part of the hotel was definately the staff. Everyone was freindly and accommodating, especially recommending restaurants and helping us make reservations at the Sauna Van Edmond in Haarlem. One of the staff even printed us an on line coupon to save us money on the entrance!
We would definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are very small, best to ask for 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is a gem of a hotel, perfectly located on the Amstel in a very scenic corner of Amsterdam city centre. We turned up on the doorstep to book our room, having left our previous (and supposedly more up-market) hotel after a disappointing experience, and we were able to take the last remaining room for the rest of our stay. As the name suggests, the hotel is very homely, and stylish in a casual, informal sort of way. The room was small but full of character and had a lovely view of the canal. The decoration is a little worn-out in places, and the shower-room floor was not very clean (take your flip-flops) - otherwise I would give this hotel five stars. The breakfast is excellent and very comprehensive - it was free on the first day and 10 euros after that. You can even cook your own eggs to just the way you like them! The staff are very friendly and helpful and genuinely ensure you have a good stay. There was a little noise from the street at night, but given that this is on the route between the Rembrandtplein and the red light district then I guess this is just to be expected on a Saturday night. My only concern is that a little maintenance will be needed to stop the decor deteriorating over time, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay there longer. I have stayed in many business hotels in Amsterdam but this little place is much nicer and an antidote to the corporate glitz of the big hotel chains. We definitely would like to stay here again and I shall be recommending this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed for a few days of holiday. The location is very central but situated off the main thoroughfare just enough not to have too much street and canal noise. This is fortunate because the windows are single-glazed and don't shut very well. You will however hear the doors of other rooms slamming because the doors seem to stick. It's like busting into your own room, which may be slightly amusing.

The view of the canal from the upper floor we stayed in was rather picturesque. The room however could use some redecoration/maintenance and a really good cleaning, particularly the bathroom, which in our room was a narrow little wet room. (Who thought a tiled swamp was a good idea?) It was gross enough that we both bought pairs of novelty flip flops so we never had to put our bare feet on the carpet or the dingy tile floor. Now I know why the hotel's website has so few photos and sparse information. Thank goodness for review sites, eh?

The hotel staff gave us the first breakfast free but it's €10 each after that. After trying it we decided against what is a basic continental breakfast for the next day. They have eggs on offer but you have to cook them yourself which feels strange, especially when paired with the classical music being played as if it's a hoity-toity place. It was like a Dutch Fawlty Towers.

In spite of a few oddities and the uncleanliness it was not a bad stay. The staff are polite and the price is pretty reasonable. It's Amsterdam, it's supposed to be an adventure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The supplies we brought from home for our trip are just about done. It's time to pack up, go home and hug family that has been greatly missed. But not before savoring Amsterdam...home of stroopwafles, aged Gouda cheese and the summer sale of Kalverstraat. And the best place to do it is from Amsterdam House Hotel. It is a small, quiet hotel by a lovely canal. Centrally located but without the usual hustle and din one expects from a central location. The owners are very helpful, friendly and gracious. There are a few tables set outside where guests can serenely watch the world and fellow tourists go by while sipping espressos.

Breakfast on the first morning is free. But because their breakfasts are substantial, one does not mind paying for them on subsequent days. Moreover, one can choose to take breakfast up to 12 noon. Kalverstraat is just a 5-7 minute walk, so is Waterlooplein, on the opposite direction, the tram stations are 'a hop and a skip' away. There are cobbled alleys to explore and out-of-the-way restaurants and pretty shops to pleasantly discover in the area.

Room Tip: When booking, ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with a group of friends last weekend and couldn't have been more pleased with the hotel. It's location is great very easily accessible by tram fron central station and within walking distance of all the sights and nightlife. Clean room overlooking the canal but still nice and quiet at night, no street noise. If I return to amsterdam I will absolutely return to this hotel. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and served delicious coffee's every morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam House Hotel

Address: 's Gravelandseveer 4, 1011 KM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amsterdam House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Amsterdam House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amsterdam Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.