We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ragged dinner napkins,..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Effect

Save Saved
You added The Greenhouse Effect to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Greenhouse Effect
Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“ragged dinner napkins,..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

... no shower curtain, burned out light bulbs and a bag of garbage left from a previous stay or by some neighbor on the stairs at our door. All of this we were not expecting to face up but we did. And we survived! Also they have a very cheap toilet paper so we had to buy a better one. All the rest is nice and sweet, especially if you don't mind to live on the corner of Bloedstraat centrum (fab location HAHA), listening to giggles and someone's talking, sniffing fumes of smoke from the coffeeshop a floor lower than your apartments. It WAS an adventure for us, but, to be honest... i doubt if we will ever again come to this place. One has to have quite low standards to accept this as a nice stay.

Room Tip: never choose Bloedstraat cenrum apartments! foul hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    20
    16
    14
See reviews for
6
37
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Good atmosphere, comfortable surroundings, good central location... fruit smoothies to die for. Would recommend in seasons when it's not too busy. Holidays = crowds. Music is chilled and enables chatting to friends, which some other venues miss.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

after arriving home from a 4 night stay at the greenhouse effect Amsterdam I thought it was only right to write a review straight away to get across to all readers how vile this "hotel" is. I would like to make a huge point that I was never expecting upscale luxury - this hotel was just beyond gross. After paying over €100 per night I was expecting at least a half decent room, especially considering how far ahead I had booked this trip.
As soon as we checked in we were asked for a €30 deposit for one key to the room and one for the front door - and asked to pay the hotel bill up front without checking the room or the hotel itself. I would not have minded this if the price I agreed to pay in march was the price I actually paid for. After being asked for €30 more than agreed and a €30 deposit I already had my doubts about this "hotel".
As we walked through the main door, we were left to carry a heavy suitcase up 3 flights of stairs - no bannister on the 3rd floor - and arrived in room 9 "Red Man". As I opened the door to two smaller than single beds, a sink and plastic table and chair, it was completely clear we had been mislead. Not only did we have a tiny attic room - but we also had to share a shower and toilet with 2 other rooms. Posters on the wall explaining the rooms are not cleaned every day and clean towels are at reception if requested?! As I went to check out the bathroom it was clear it had not been cleaned in quite a while due to the stale urine left in the toilet bowl - lovely! As I entered the shower room I was greated with a hand held metal shower head and a corroded wet room floor.
Immediately disappointed we decided to leave the room and try to forget about the misfortune and enjoy our holiday. As a couple when we returned we decided to move the single beds together in the middle of the room where a RAT TRAP was found underneath the bed. Absolutely disgusting. After a restless night of sleep I then woke up to around 20 bites on my legs and blood on the sheet from the bedbugs inside the mattress. Like this stay couldn't get worse. I have nothing good to say about this hotel - breakfast isn't worth getting up for - a few stale bread rolls and cheese which has no doubt been sat there for the entire duration of breakfast. When we requested an iron it was covered with dirt and no ironing board or flat surface? What's the point? No wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes other than 3 plastic hooks on the door which couldn't even hold the weight of a coat. Absolutely AVOID this hotel. When checking out the lady working behind the bar walky talkied the cleaner to check our room - very awkward and rude. Bags were kept in a stock room which was easily accessible by everyone - not locked.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved the greenhouse effect. The location is great, the service is fab and the breakfasts are leisurely and full of options. The apartment we stayed in was about 5 mins walk from the greenhouse cafe and bar (which we didn't expect), but it was in the Nieumarket (can't spell!) and was actually a better location - next to an ATM and a great supermarket - but directly next to Coffeeshops etc. Great. The only criticism I have (and it is small), the loo in the apartment really smells badly of cigarettes and nicotine (but old like it has been there for years!).

Thanks Greenhouse - another great stay in Amsterdam!! We will be back.

Room Tip: The apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great stay here in Amsterdam, we even came back for a second visit. Brilliant knowledgeable helpful staff, excellent music policy. Just a short walk from the train station where the train runs directly from the airport.

The decor themes were excellent and the accomodation was basic but good, everything that you would require for a city break in the dam.

Plenty to discover just round the corner...

Room Tip: Close your eyes and pick one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This isnt some classy ritzy high end establishment, Rooms arent exactly high end, but definitely interesting. However, if you go in knowing that you'll be pleasantly surprised with the staff here. That's the real draw, the locaton, the staff and the atmosphere. Very cool and helpful people working here, and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed with the Greenhouse Effect towards the end of July for 3 days. Having visited Amsterdam numerous times and staying in a selection of hotels we thought lets get an apartment. I went on the hunt and came across The Greenhouse Effect, although we have been to the coffee shop a number of times we didnt know what to expect of the apartment, we only had reviews and pictures to go with. But OMG, this has to be the best place we have stayed and it absolutely made our trip stand out compared to previous visits. We stayed in number 12 Canal View and what a view. 3 massive windows overlooking DamRak and the canal, with a very spacious living and kitchen area was fantastic. Over the 3 days we had good weather but on one of the days we had a very rainy start but because of the quality of this apartment we were able to relax and wind down by the windows and watch the world go by. Overall a fantastic experience, brilliant value for money and will be booking and staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 171 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Effect, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.