We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - the apartments are fab!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Effect

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Effect to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Effect
Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great place - the apartments are fab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We loved the greenhouse effect. The location is great, the service is fab and the breakfasts are leisurely and full of options. The apartment we stayed in was about 5 mins walk from the greenhouse cafe and bar (which we didn't expect), but it was in the Nieumarket (can't spell!) and was actually a better location - next to an ATM and a great supermarket - but directly next to Coffeeshops etc. Great. The only criticism I have (and it is small), the loo in the apartment really smells badly of cigarettes and nicotine (but old like it has been there for years!).

Thanks Greenhouse - another great stay in Amsterdam!! We will be back.

Room Tip: The apartments are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
6
38
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had a great stay here in Amsterdam, we even came back for a second visit. Brilliant knowledgeable helpful staff, excellent music policy. Just a short walk from the train station where the train runs directly from the airport.

The decor themes were excellent and the accomodation was basic but good, everything that you would require for a city break in the dam.

Plenty to discover just round the corner...

Room Tip: Close your eyes and pick one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This isnt some classy ritzy high end establishment, Rooms arent exactly high end, but definitely interesting. However, if you go in knowing that you'll be pleasantly surprised with the staff here. That's the real draw, the locaton, the staff and the atmosphere. Very cool and helpful people working here, and the location is spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Myself and 3 friends stayed with the Greenhouse Effect towards the end of July for 3 days. Having visited Amsterdam numerous times and staying in a selection of hotels we thought lets get an apartment. I went on the hunt and came across The Greenhouse Effect, although we have been to the coffee shop a number of times we didnt know what to expect of the apartment, we only had reviews and pictures to go with. But OMG, this has to be the best place we have stayed and it absolutely made our trip stand out compared to previous visits. We stayed in number 12 Canal View and what a view. 3 massive windows overlooking DamRak and the canal, with a very spacious living and kitchen area was fantastic. Over the 3 days we had good weather but on one of the days we had a very rainy start but because of the quality of this apartment we were able to relax and wind down by the windows and watch the world go by. Overall a fantastic experience, brilliant value for money and will be booking and staying here again.

Room Tip: Request a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 apartments Urban Chill & Hill Street Blues Market.

Urban chill was on the main green cafe drag, busy street, great atmosphere. I could not hear the street noise from the apartment as ours was located at the back of the building,great!

Room was boiling but staff supplied a fan, Amsterdam was 37 - 39 during our 3 night stay (perfect).

Room had wardrobe, 2 single beds, lovely spacious shower & toilet. Towels and bedding supplied.

Cooking facilities were 2 ring hob.

Hill Street Blues Market Apartment:
Was a 10 min walk from our friends apartment however this was not an issue as great sights on route.

Apartment was somewhat cooler than friends and was over looking the niewmarket and was directly above a coffee shop, a little noisy but this is amsterdam and we there to mingle!

Supermarket 2 doors away best prices for beer! You pay around 1.50 per bottle. Beware some supermarkets (near canal) charging 3.50 per bottle.

Cooking facilities - 2 ring hob, kettle and microwave.

Bedding supplied & towels.

Great to chill on evening watching street pass you by.


Overall - 140 euros per night which included breakfast. Which was great.


Staff very friendly (Anna was great) and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Would definately use again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed there one night for Eoro cup final, but when we got there we were told they had double booked. However they did sort alternative accomodation and supplied numerous free drinks as compensation. Location was great (although we were located 10 mins walk away), bar prices were cheapest in town and great music and atmosphere.
Breakfast was good but a bit tight for space as back room (smoking bit) was being renovated that morning.

Room Tip: Make sure they have your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived in 32c . Very hot indeed.
The bar and 'smoking room' have air-con. This enhanced the very friendly welcome. On one of the most lively streets. Everything as expected and better. Almost vertical staircase, not for the weak of heart, however, I am disabled and still made it. Room very clean, towels fresh every day.
Great breakfast 0900-1200. Help yourself, very relaxed.
Importantly the room had a fridge and fan. Fridge stocked with 'munchies' and cans/stuff.
Tarif on door of fridge, pay on departure.
Staff exceptionally helpful, nothing too much trouble. 5 min. walk from Central Station.
We shall be back.

Room Tip: We only saw our room. Themed 'Arabian Nights' No view. We didn't go for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Effect, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.