We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Effect

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Greenhouse Effect to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Effect
Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
285 helpful votes 285 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked 2 apartments Urban Chill & Hill Street Blues Market.

Urban chill was on the main green cafe drag, busy street, great atmosphere. I could not hear the street noise from the apartment as ours was located at the back of the building,great!

Room was boiling but staff supplied a fan, Amsterdam was 37 - 39 during our 3 night stay (perfect).

Room had wardrobe, 2 single beds, lovely spacious shower & toilet. Towels and bedding supplied.

Cooking facilities were 2 ring hob.

Hill Street Blues Market Apartment:
Was a 10 min walk from our friends apartment however this was not an issue as great sights on route.

Apartment was somewhat cooler than friends and was over looking the niewmarket and was directly above a coffee shop, a little noisy but this is amsterdam and we there to mingle!

Supermarket 2 doors away best prices for beer! You pay around 1.50 per bottle. Beware some supermarkets (near canal) charging 3.50 per bottle.

Cooking facilities - 2 ring hob, kettle and microwave.

Bedding supplied & towels.

Great to chill on evening watching street pass you by.


Overall - 140 euros per night which included breakfast. Which was great.


Staff very friendly (Anna was great) and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Would definately use again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    21
    16
    14
See reviews for
6
38
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed there one night for Eoro cup final, but when we got there we were told they had double booked. However they did sort alternative accomodation and supplied numerous free drinks as compensation. Location was great (although we were located 10 mins walk away), bar prices were cheapest in town and great music and atmosphere.
Breakfast was good but a bit tight for space as back room (smoking bit) was being renovated that morning.

Room Tip: Make sure they have your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lossiemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Arrived in 32c . Very hot indeed.
The bar and 'smoking room' have air-con. This enhanced the very friendly welcome. On one of the most lively streets. Everything as expected and better. Almost vertical staircase, not for the weak of heart, however, I am disabled and still made it. Room very clean, towels fresh every day.
Great breakfast 0900-1200. Help yourself, very relaxed.
Importantly the room had a fridge and fan. Fridge stocked with 'munchies' and cans/stuff.
Tarif on door of fridge, pay on departure.
Staff exceptionally helpful, nothing too much trouble. 5 min. walk from Central Station.
We shall be back.

Room Tip: We only saw our room. Themed 'Arabian Nights' No view. We didn't go for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in the 'Urban Chill' apartment, just round the corner from the hotel.

Long hallway leads to small open kitchen leading onto large double room with en suite facilities.
TV, cupboards, electric hob and a decent shower as well as a large fridge and some basic cooking/kitchen tools.

Shower good and bathroom fine.

The room itself is large and backs onto the middle of a small residential square with the Oude kerk as a backdrop. The bells chime every 15 minutes, but it is a pleasant and un-intrusive sound.

Location could simply not be any better, located bang in the middle of all the action but without the intense noise. Discount in the shop and at the fantastic bar round the corner.. really is one of the best places to chill in A'dam.

Staff first rate, Jonathan is a legend.

Breakfast average, decent coffee and some breads, cereals ham and cheese plus some juices.

If noise bothers you bring some ear plugs but it's really not that bad, a fantastic little gem to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in 2 x 4 bed apartments and I cannot fault anything about our stay. Yes there are some steep stairs but hey it's Amsterdam and there's steep stairs in most residential buildings! Rooms were clean, tidy, well presented and both had views over the canal. Not noisy in the slightest but then we didn't sleep much! Breakfast is included and was delicious, staff are very friendly also... If we do go back I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a ten minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal, very easy to find. The staff are very nice and helpful. The room was quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The price of the room includes are very nice breakfast. Pros: great location, nice bar with discounts for hotel guests, coffeshop next door. You can smoke in your room if you open the window. Rooms are relatively quiet considering the busy locale and the noisy bar below. There is a laundromat and many restaurants right across the street. Very helpful English speaking staff. Cons: the shower is a bit rustic, and it is hard to get the right water temperature- it comes out very hot. The mini bar costs extra- but it is well stocked and convenient. Like many other hotels in the area- THE STAIRS. They are narrow and steep. There is a 30 Euro key deposit- really no problem if you expect it and you get it back on check out. I think the pros outweighted the cons by far. We did not experience any of the issues seen on other reviews. I would certainly stay here again without hesitation.

would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quiet but have a less than stellar view. If you have bulky luggage, the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As soon as we arrived all the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and don't get me wrong the hotel was nice. As soon as we got in the room saw a bug crawling on one of the beds, we stayed in room number 4, We thought nothing of it and went about our business. We came back for a nap and after about an hour I woke up to at least 15-20 bugs crawling all over me and across my bed, they were Bed Bugs and literally ate me alive. We told them and they apologised and moved our room. They offered us a free round of drinks.
Other than this experience everything else was very good, comfy beds, clean towels, good shower, nice breakfast.
It was just this first incident which put doubt and paranoia had let it down because this was our instant first impression of the place.

Room Tip: Dont choose room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greenhouse Effect, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.