We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban Chill is a Fantastic apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greenhouse Effect

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Greenhouse Effect to your Saves list
The Greenhouse Effect
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Urban Chill is a Fantastic apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed in the 'Urban Chill' apartment, just round the corner from the hotel.

Long hallway leads to small open kitchen leading onto large double room with en suite facilities.
TV, cupboards, electric hob and a decent shower as well as a large fridge and some basic cooking/kitchen tools.

Shower good and bathroom fine.

The room itself is large and backs onto the middle of a small residential square with the Oude kerk as a backdrop. The bells chime every 15 minutes, but it is a pleasant and un-intrusive sound.

Location could simply not be any better, located bang in the middle of all the action but without the intense noise. Discount in the shop and at the fantastic bar round the corner.. really is one of the best places to chill in A'dam.

Staff first rate, Jonathan is a legend.

Breakfast average, decent coffee and some breads, cereals ham and cheese plus some juices.

If noise bothers you bring some ear plugs but it's really not that bad, a fantastic little gem to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in 2 x 4 bed apartments and I cannot fault anything about our stay. Yes there are some steep stairs but hey it's Amsterdam and there's steep stairs in most residential buildings! Rooms were clean, tidy, well presented and both had views over the canal. Not noisy in the slightest but then we didn't sleep much! Breakfast is included and was delicious, staff are very friendly also... If we do go back I certainly wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susiev2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The hotel is a ten minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal, very easy to find. The staff are very nice and helpful. The room was quiet and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The price of the room includes are very nice breakfast. Pros: great location, nice bar with discounts for hotel guests, coffeshop next door. You can smoke in your room if you open the window. Rooms are relatively quiet considering the busy locale and the noisy bar below. There is a laundromat and many restaurants right across the street. Very helpful English speaking staff. Cons: the shower is a bit rustic, and it is hard to get the right water temperature- it comes out very hot. The mini bar costs extra- but it is well stocked and convenient. Like many other hotels in the area- THE STAIRS. They are narrow and steep. There is a 30 Euro key deposit- really no problem if you expect it and you get it back on check out. I think the pros outweighted the cons by far. We did not experience any of the issues seen on other reviews. I would certainly stay here again without hesitation.

would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quiet but have a less than stellar view. If you have bulky luggage, the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

As soon as we arrived all the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and don't get me wrong the hotel was nice. As soon as we got in the room saw a bug crawling on one of the beds, we stayed in room number 4, We thought nothing of it and went about our business. We came back for a nap and after about an hour I woke up to at least 15-20 bugs crawling all over me and across my bed, they were Bed Bugs and literally ate me alive. We told them and they apologised and moved our room. They offered us a free round of drinks.
Other than this experience everything else was very good, comfy beds, clean towels, good shower, nice breakfast.
It was just this first incident which put doubt and paranoia had let it down because this was our instant first impression of the place.

Room Tip: Dont choose room 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro_Milkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in an apartment and the last night in the 'Arabian nights' room. Both locations were handy for seeing the main sites in Amsterdam. The apartment & room were both clean & tidy, staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The apartment had been freshly painted & was fresh. The themed room was fun & good if partaking in some of Amsterdams finest.
We arrived on a very early morning flight, arrived before the hotel had opened but one of the staff members invited us in and gave us coffee while he finished opening up for the day which was lovely. Throughout our stay the staff accommodated for our every needs, they put the MotoGP on tv for us so we could watch it & didn't have to search for a sports bar, advised us of good bars/restaurants etc & made us feel at home. We will definitely stay here the next time we return!

Room Tip: Themed rooms are fun & apartments are good if you want a bit more space & kitchenette if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RS8384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

A stayed in a Mary Jane triple room with 2 friends, for 2 nights.
The room was ok considering the price, but was like sleeping in the middle of a building site.

The rooms are above a bar, which was perfect.
The staff were great, and you get a nice little discount on drinks if you are a guest.
Breakfast was nice as well.

The location was good, slap bang in the middle of everything.
If you are looking for a budget friendly room, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry-cfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berchem, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The evening before our travel, I received a call to confirm my stay. I took this as a courtesy call.
We spent the whole day at Keukenhof and turned up at about 8PM.
We were given the key and directed to a place in the next lane.
I was with my parents, who are 55 and 62.
After dragging our luggage up 2 floors through a narrow spiral stairway, we noticed that the "room" just had a sofa! There were a couple of closed doors, so assuming that we had missed the keys to the bedroom, I went back to the bar (which doubles as the reception). The girl called the owner and after about 30 minutes, I was informed that "it WAS the room".
Their explanation: There was a double booking through booking.com and the emergency spare room (for cases like this) wasn't readied for us.
We waited another hour while the girl dragged a foldable bed and mattress up the staircase by herself.
The sofa became a double bed and the girl readied the sheets as best as she could.

We got enough apologies from her and also from the guy who was supposed to have readied this spare emergency room for us.

Even if a single review may not matter, this comes straight from the horse's mouth.
I travel to Amsterdam with friends and colleagues once or twice every couple of months or more, and will never go to this place even if it gets a 10/10 rating.

Replies from the management are not welcome.

Room Tip: There are probably no good rooms, so tips will not help! Nevertheless: right in the red light distr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RRay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#152 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 970 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#158 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#60 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel De Koopermoolen
Hotel De Koopermoolen
#210 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
Frisco Inn Bar Hotel
#168 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Greenhouse Effect? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenhouse Effect

Address: Warmoesstraat 55, 1012 HW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 207 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — The Greenhouse Effect 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Greenhouse Effect reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenhouse Effect Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing