We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tomatillo Tex-Mex To Go

Tomatillo Tex-Mex To Go
261 Overtoom | 1054 HW, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #439 of 2,239 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

It is a small restaurant and take away place in the area of Overtoom. We arrived there using tram 1. The food was lovely! We had two Burritos both with veal which was really tender. We could taste all the different ingredients used and the chipotle saus that accompanied our dish was a perfect match. We paid around 20 €, for 2 burritos. 1 beer and some nachos with guacamole. The guacamole was the only thing that we did not like, but rather than that everything was yummy.

We are definitely going back soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    21
    9
    0
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The best Mexican food in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The only place we order from and it's a cute place to eat too. The wide assortment of salsas are freshly made and taste delicious. They are the only Mexican restaurant / delivery (pretty sure about it) that offer organic / biologische meat and chicken! Their chips are great too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best burritos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Ranchito style burrito was the best burrito ever and I have tasted hundreds! Juicy, cheesy, as fresh as possible! And real meat! Plus priced exactly like in Mexico and not in Amsterdam!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Delicious burritos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really good burritos and friendly staff to boot. The burrito I had wasn't that hot, so I just asked the cook to reheat it and he did without any hesitation or problem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lacklustre and ordinary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had a craving for Mexican food so drove into Amsterdam for lunch on the basis of these reviews. We had respectively, a chicken burrito with pinapple salsa and a steak burrito with tomatillo salsa, some nachos and guacamole plus two drinks - water and a cola. The bill came to 30 euros.

When we came into the venue, there was one table occupied, and the occupants left as we ordered. Ordering seemed more complicated than it ought to be - I speak English and Dutch and yet the counter staff was confused. Once we ordered we chose a table: it was dirty so we moved to one of the other four tables. Granted it was cleaned up once they noticed but that may have influenced my disposition toward the place.

The food itself was ok. My partner enjoyed his chicken burrito. My steak burrito was cold, and had no depth of flavour. The guacamole with the nachos was awful. It had stringy things in it - perhaps from corn on the cob? It was also tasteless, the avocados were under ripe and there wasn't enough seasoning. The salsa was alright.

The portions are fairly big but for what's essentially a fast food meal it was too pricey. For slightly more money you could have a comfortable sit down meal in a cafe.

I understand there have been a lot of good reviews - wish I could have placed one of them!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomatillo Tex-Mex To Go also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province

Been to Tomatillo Tex-Mex To Go? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tomatillo Tex-Mex To Go, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.