We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Marie Heinekenplein 1, 1072 MH | Marie Heinekenplein 1, 1072MH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 679 7297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

One of the best Indian restaurant I have ever visited. Food excellent staff excellent service excellent. It was that good we went again the following night.!!!! 10 out of 1o. We will definatley go again when we return to Amsterdam.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    119
    26
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We love curries and have tried many curries in different countries. This really was one of the best, extremely tasty and well cooked, excellent service, friendly owner and staff - they made us really welcome. So good, we went back the next night! So for the 3 nights in Amsterdam, the Taj Mahal had our custom for two nights. Well worth a visit! 10 out of 10!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Very nice and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I picked this restaurant from trip advisor. The food was amazing and the atmospher was very friendly and relaxing. The starter and the soup were great. The mains were very tasty. It is easy to reach by tram no 16 or 24 from the central of Amsterdam. Just get off at (Stadhouderskade). You will find it in front of you. The hospitality was very generous and friendly. We had the very tasty Indian tea after the food and still offered to have more tea even we were wearing our coats to leave.
Thanks for everything.
Please look to my photos.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bad Chicken!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We visited based on reviews on here.. And wished we'd gone to koh-i-noor instead!

I wasn't too hungry when we arrived so we ordered a platter of starters to share and 1 main and rice. The waiter rudely told us that 1 wasn't enough and that we needed to order 2 mains. I explained that wouldn't be able to eat a full main to myself and didn't want to waste it and that I'd just have a the starters and try some of the main. He begrudgingly agreed.

The food arrived very fast and I really enjoyed the starter. I plated up a spoonful of rice and chicken tikka for myself out of the main. I'm quite fussy with meat and am always cautious with chicken... I cut it in half to ensure its cooked through. I cut into it to find what looked like a blackened hole through it. I asked my friend to cut a piece of his chicken in half to see if it was the same (just incase it had been cooked on a skewer or something.. although that still wouldn't justify the black colour) and his was fine.. Little to say, there was no chance I was eating any of it at that point. Decided not to complain as the rest of the chicken seemed ok...

All in all disappointed and without doubt will never be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I are big fans of this restaurant. We have been here numerous times and have tried many items off the menu. The food is excellent; the flavors are rich and savory with good presentation. The service is equally outstanding. The owner and his staff are very accommodating, always attentive to the diners. If you like Indian food or are looking for something different, be sure to try this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.