We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food and lively location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Marie Heinekenplein 1, 1072MH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 679 7297
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Taj Mahal is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 2,551 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
“Tasty food and lively location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The restaurant is located in a good location. The food served are tasty and able to differentiate the flavours across dishes :) which we cannot in some of the restaurants ! We were 9 of us, booked a table on the Diwali evening and had a good time. The soups were good; veg. starters were oily - samosas and Onion bhajee - can be avoided. The main course was definitely better compared to starters. The rotis, kulchas were good so as the sides. However, service could have been faster; though it was a busy day !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    488
    165
    34
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at Taj Mahal in late October. I had the special which included Chicken Tikki and my wife ordered Lamb Birani. The food was exceptionally good! The ambience is very nice, and the service well paced and extremely friendly and professional. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnet, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good food, nice setting with good atmosphere. We were recommended it as one of the best indian restaurants in Amstersdam and agree that it was very good. Probably the best restaurant in the square that it is in. It is probably best to book ahead because two large groups took over the whole restaurant meaning that we could not be seated when we first arrived and had to wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Indian Cuisine in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were walking past this restaurant and decided to go in. What an unexpected surprise. We have been in Amsterdam for a week and this is by far the best restaurant we have eaten in. The atmosphere, family friendly service along with the excellent food was a delight. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. Thank you so much for the experience :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Amsterdam-South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We sometimes use this restaurant for take-away. We never regret because of the taste, sometimes we do because the curries are rather fat. It is very advisable to ask for a vegetable curry and for naan and papadam bread. In terms of calories you could then almost skip the rice. Everything we tried tasted very good. Lamb Curry, chicken tandoori, saag paneer, cauliflower curry, etc. So: The best Indian in Amsterdam-South is situated (next to the best Chinese) on Marie Heinekenplein (Heinekensquare).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.