We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Marie Heinekenplein 1, 1072 MH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 679 7297
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 2,508 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are traditional North-Indian restaurant specialist in Tandoori oven, Curry, Vegatarian, Birriani's and traditional North-Indian breads. We also have special desserts and drinks.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
“Great Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife and I ate at Taj Mahal in late October. I had the special which included Chicken Tikki and my wife ordered Lamb Birani. The food was exceptionally good! The ambience is very nice, and the service well paced and extremely friendly and professional. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    532
    181
    37
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Good food, nice setting with good atmosphere. We were recommended it as one of the best indian restaurants in Amstersdam and agree that it was very good. Probably the best restaurant in the square that it is in. It is probably best to book ahead because two large groups took over the whole restaurant meaning that we could not be seated when we first arrived and had to wait.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing Indian Cuisine in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were walking past this restaurant and decided to go in. What an unexpected surprise. We have been in Amsterdam for a week and this is by far the best restaurant we have eaten in. The atmosphere, family friendly service along with the excellent food was a delight. We would definitely recommend this restaurant. Thank you so much for the experience :-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in Amsterdam-South”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We sometimes use this restaurant for take-away. We never regret because of the taste, sometimes we do because the curries are rather fat. It is very advisable to ask for a vegetable curry and for naan and papadam bread. In terms of calories you could then almost skip the rice. Everything we tried tasted very good. Lamb Curry, chicken tandoori, saag paneer, cauliflower curry, etc. So: The best Indian in Amsterdam-South is situated (next to the best Chinese) on Marie Heinekenplein (Heinekensquare).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best Indian in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in Amsterdam for 3 days. We have enjoyed the dinner so much that decided not to look any further and ended up eating there 3 evenings. Although the restaurant was packed every time we went, we always got a table.

Wonderful food. After very long days this food brought us back to life and gave energy. We tried several lamb, vegetarian dishes. Chicken soup (Madras) was great too. We asked for extra spicy and truly enjoyed it. Kulfi (home made Indian ice cream) was the best one ever! Naan was exceptional. Lassis (mango, salty one) are superb.

Polite and efficient staff creates great atmosphere. Last but not least very special thank you to Mr. Singh, the owner for personal attention, exceptional care and hospitality.

Would love to be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.