We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TAKE A WALK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht)

Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$31*
and up
Amsterdam Super Saver: Canal Cruise plus Harbor...
Ranked #43 of 278 Activities in Amsterdam
Type: Bodies of Water, Performances
Attraction details
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
110 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“TAKE A WALK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

My husband and enjoyed the canal cruse the day before but today we decided to do it by foot and take our time, it was a pleasant walk, it is a busy canal, we saw a lots of boats and house boat along the way,some of the house boats had pots with plants and flowers

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    194
    22
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2014 NEW

Yes, it might be one of many but in autumn evening light it seduced me. Absolutely amazing photo spots and great walk surrounded by locals. You will probably get lost, we did more than once, but you will find many road signs and you can always ask locals, they all speak english and are glad to help. Take a boat ride, and you will see all places of interest.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
287 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Canals are a part of Amsterdam and it was nice to walk around them!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Canals are a part of Amsterdam and it was nice to walk around them! In 2006 when visiting with a friend in the winter ... it was almost eery to walk around the canals on some winding streets ... this one was where we stopped to take a pic.

Overall the canals make the city what it is and add to its character ... enjoy walking around them solo if you are in Amsterdam.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best way to visit Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Best way to enjoy Amsterdam is visit through Canals ... Visited the canals and had a great time .. The boat passed through all small and big canals .. Had fun

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire lass
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“it's a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

we booked a 1hour 15minute city cruse to see Amsterdam from the water, it was money well spent, it's a must.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emperor's Canal (Keizersgracht), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.