We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is EXCELLENT! Dont read the bad reviews!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This hotel is EXCELLENT! Dont read the bad reviews!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

I have just come back from a stay at this hotel. I went for a weekend with 7 other friends. I had read all the reviews i could find and the bad outweighed the good i was so nervous that it was going to be a dump lol but i was soooo suprised, the hotel has completly been renovated and the decor is beautiful. I stayed in a large double room which was very large had a double bed and two arm chairs, en suite bathroom with shower (so nice). Cleaners in everyday fresh towels make beds etc. Some of my friends stayed in triple rooms which were a great standard too. There was flat screen tv's in all the rooms, which i had read there was none so that was a nice suprise. Staff were extra nice, we asked about a comedy show and the guy at reception, he even phoned down to the theatre for us.
There was no bar in the hotel or lift but there was a bar just around the corner and you can get over the stairs lol. The restaurant also only served breakfast in the morning, no lunch or dinner. But there are nice restaurants close by.
Location was brill, not even a 5 minute walk to rembrant square. Tram line is literally a 3 min walk and you can get around the rest of the city from here. Also close to coffee shops if thats what your looking for.
To sum it all up, i cant believe this hotel is only 2 star. I would stay here again.
Look at the photos!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    108
    59
    29
    25
See reviews for
25
78
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

The hotel fire alarm went off three times between midnight and dawn. The receptionist explained it was people smoking joints in their rooms.
We had a triple room. It was cramped, but then so is most Amsterdam accommodation. The bathroom was so small that you couldn't sit without opening the door. But it was clean, the beds were comfortable and the pillows seemed to be made of a block of tyre rubber. Our room had nice big windows and a view across a canal.
The breakfast was very ordinary for €9 extra. They didn't charge us for the one breakfast we had because of the fire alarm. Th staff were friendly but tiresomely bureaucratic, demanding a driver's licence or passport in case we bilked.
The hotel has made an attempt at a distinctive interior styling, but the fake Russian writing is naff.
It is well situated in a quiet and relatively open part of town, near some picturesque bridges and Rembrandt Square. For us it was a perfect location with great walks to every destination in central Amsterdam.
Value for money: in absolute terms it's expensive for what it offers; relative to other hotels of this category in Amsterdam, I expect you could do worse.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moskou
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2009

I*v just back from Amsterdam, were I*v stayed for 4 days in hotel Hermitage, and I want to say, likely for me non of revues was true. This are all old revues of hotel, which by the way they don’t only renamed but completely renovated. I don’t know what it was before, but now it is kind of boutique hotel. Extremely clean (almost sterile),great very helpful stuff, just 2 minutes walk from Rembrandt square. Before coming to Amsterdam I read all that bad stuff about hotel, but because my Dutch friends live in this area of Amsterdam I booked it anyway. I thought I don’t wanna spend a lot of time in the hotel and will be there only for sleeping - I gonna survive. But what a surprise really. I booked this hotel from Easytobook.com, there you can also see new pictures and read revues about real hotel Hermitage and not the old one(what eve it was).
If you wanna stay in the Centrum of Amsterdam, have a great beds in the room, have a possibility to communicate with receptionists (the speak English fluently ) for very reasonable price its your hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

The hotel is now called Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam, it advertises all rooms with flatscreen tv, telephone and coffee making facilities, however none of the rooms actually had these. Everything was clean however we paid for a large double room but were given a small double room, they advertised it had a canal view which is true however there is also construction work which is very loud across the canal. The staff were helpful but the person at reception was unhelpful and seem to have some attitude, he seem to think it was laughable we expected a tv in the room, he apologised when he realised it was their hotel that advertised this on the website. I didnt find it was close to anywhere plus we were placed on the fourth floor and there is no elevator, not good if you are young or old, as an elderly person would not be able to climb up at least 6 sets of stairs and the young tend to go out and could have a horrible accident, the cancellation policy is to pay for the first night of stay, so we stayed the first night cancelled in the morning which he refused to accept and required us to pay for 2 nights instead, we were so unhappy we decided to pay for 2 nights without staying and moved on to another hotel (armada) with was cheaper, had all of the above facilities, brilliant staff and included a great breakfast included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the streets
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

Thank you for spoiling a perfect holiday!!!! You could have told us that you were closed before we travelled to Amsterdam so we could organise alternative arrangements. Bad organisation. We have had to sleep on the streets thank you

Stayed March 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2008

We just arrived back from a four-day-trip to Amsterdam and we are still horrified by this overly disgusting place. The bathroom was entirely covered with black mildew stains, the shower head was broken and the toilet smelled like it hasn't been cleaned for ages. The duvet had white stains on it and the hairdryer and telephone which were promoted on the website didn't exist, the door didn’t close properly and the key card was broken. Although they didn’t fix the shower for two days, we had to pay the full price – service simply doesn’t exist at the fantasia hotel. If you want to enjoy your stay in Amsterdam, I suppose any other place is better than this one.

  • Liked — the day we could check out
  • Disliked — see report
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

First thoughts walking in was decent especialy arriving at 3 in the morning after a delayed flight! The stairs are very very steep and there is no elevator so it is hard to get suitcase up and down nevermind it being hard just to walk up and down it! Staff wasnt very helpful and on your way to your room depending on what floor your on you wil see cockroach traps everywhere! Room was small for two people and if your expecting a double bed expect two single beds put together (uncomfortable) ! The breakfast wasnt to good all it was is toast and tea (self service). The location was good, 5min walk from my favourite coffeeshop! 5-10 min walk from dam square. girlfriend was not impressed and near had a panic attack when seeing the traps and the run down apperance of inside. wouldnt go back in my opinion! overall the best thing is the location and also clean sheets!

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Cockroach Traps and appearence
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.