We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great few days away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have just returned home from a two night stay at this hotel.
The receptionist was very helpfull and friendly and luckily had an adaptor to borrow as we both forgot ours.
I initially booked a small double room but after reading some reviews about all the stairs and size of the room I decided to up grade. Best decision ever, there was only two of us but we ended up in a large family/group room on the first floor. Very spacious, clean and the beds were surprisingly comfortable.
The free hot drinks went down a treat and i loved the cat that came for a stroke, just like being at home.
I will definitely look to stay at this hotel again on our next visit.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    108
    59
    29
    25
See reviews for
25
78
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is great value for what we paid, we stayed for a weekend and it was perfect for what we needed. This hotel is not in the centre but only a short subway ride away which is very easy to use and runs every few minutes. The rooms are nicely decorated, the are not huge but nice and cosy with all the usual facilities besides coffee & tea but there is a machine downstairs that you can help yourself to for free. The only slight negatives are the steep narrow stairs and we had a separate bathroom that was tiny but clean and functional.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Nice quiet location, easily walkable to any attractions. Liked the free drinks in reception and the room was clean. Bed small but we knew that from booking information. Helpful staff on reception. Negative was that hallway smelt of smoke.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Nice hotel that catered for a "family" of 5. Max of 20 mins walk to most places. Use of kitchen facilites downstairs (tea/coffe machine, microwave, kettle, etc. Friendly staff. Would recommend if looking for convenience rather than luxury. I would stay again if travelling with a group.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I had to find accommodation somewhere close to where my friends lived/stayed. The hotel was only two stops away from Centraal on a tube. Trams are nearby and it is easy to move around in the city.

As many people have mentioned the stairs could be a problem, but luckily I had no suitcase. I was okay. As almost any accommodation in Amsterdam in this price range, the room I stayed was very small, but that is Amsterdam. The distance between the shower and the toilet really reminded me of that.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Good points: location, wi-fi, free drinks, view from the window, possibility to leave luggage and very hot water in the shower.
Bad points: not too hot during the night, mould in the bathroom due to poor ventilation (use tea tree oil to kills it), steep stairs, small room - it would be hard for two people to stay in there.
I've stayed at the 5th floor, but noticed that rooms up to the 3rd floor are bigger.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed there for 3 days. Friendly staff, great free beverage, good location, great wi-fi sinal, ok price.
The only problem was the stairs! No lift, just stairs for us 3 and 4 bags! It was hard, but didn't compromised our experience!
Oh, the walls were too thin, everytime someone knocked on a door i would answer our door cause it sounds like someone is knocking on you door, little scary... hahahaha
Good place to stay! will surely recommend it!

Room Tip: Make sure all the lamps are working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.