We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lansing, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel Hermitage is in a nice, quiet location with easy access to public transportation and pretty much anything you'd want to see or do. We stayed on the 5th floor. There is no elevator and the stairs are pretty narrow. This is something I was aware of when booking, however, if you have a lot of luggage or are unfit, you may want to consider staying on a lower floor. The wifi signal was also terrible up there. The photos on the website do a good job of concealing how shabby it actually is. While I found the rooms to be clean, there were missing tiles in the bathroom and peeling wallpaper. It was unseasonably cold and rainy while we visited and the heat didn't work, so we spent the night wearing as many layers as possible and shivering. The staff was friendly, but there was a different person behind the desk each time I went by, and some were more helpful than others. Overall, I found it to be just ok, but I don't know if I would stay again given another choice, especially if it was cold out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    101
    60
    26
    24
See reviews for
23
70
24
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Maybe I booked a little late, but for 100 euro a night I'd have expected more. However the room had a nice interior, the bathroom was way too small (even getting in and out of the shower needed some cat-like moves and standing in front of the sink/mirror was impossible as the toilet was in the way). Nevertheless I had a quality time in Amsterdam, so why would I care about the hotel, right?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

5th floor twin room was 2 metres wide by 5 metres long with rafters at an angle making it some what tricky to negotiate when both guests are 188cm (6fy 2"). Arrived, checked in and then went out again. Returned in the early hours and went to bed. This hotel did what we needed it to do. Not somewhere I would recommend for a romantic getaway. Pay more and enjoy the trip more.

Room Tip: Do not get a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at hotel hermitage at the beginning of May 2013.

We flew into AMS airport, and using google maps directions made it to the hotel quite easily (it cost us a total of about 8 euro each - you need to catch a train and then a metro).

When we arrived at the hotel, the guy at the front desk was really welcoming - and very stoned, although this is to be expected in Amsterdam. When he checked us in, he put us in a family room on the ground floor at the front of the hotel (actually the best room in the place) even though we had booked a twin, but we weren't complaining... until the boss came in and realised the mistake and told us we would have to move first thing in the morning... a bit inconvenient when you are only staying 2 nights. But this family room was really great.. right at the front entrance, windows onto the street but great blinds for privacy and darkness, and very little noise. The beds were quite comfortable and the bathroom decent size. The only negatives i have for this room is that the lighting was very dull, there was no powerpoint in the bathroom for hair straighteners, and no door/curtain to the shower so the whole bathroom floods (dont leave clothes or towels on the floor!). in all honesty though, we were totally stoked with the place based on first impressions!

The twin room we were moved into on the second night was on the 5th (top) floor... do what you can to avoid being put here.. the stairs are incredibly steep and there is no lift so it is exhausting carrying your luggage up there. [We also were told that if we left our luggage in the foyer it would be taken up to our new room for us, but when we returned after a long day of sight-seeing, it hadn't been, and we had a fair workout]. The twin room is really tiny, and not really big enough for two people not in a couple. The room we were in (504 i think?) also had really bad internet.. it hardly worked, which was annoying since when we book a hotel we look specifically for free wifi in the rooms, and for a one night stay, tackling the 5 flights of stairs just didn't seem worth it to complain and try to be moved (again). Also the shower in this room didn't work. it has clearly been "fixed" by someone with a hair elastic to try and hold it together, but the piece that swaps the water flow between tap and shower head was stuck so it was virtually impossible to shower - again not a big deal for one night, but annoying nonetheless.

The staff: During our stay we encountered 3 different staff members, two of whom were constantly stoned (and not that happy, chilled, functional stoned, but totally out of it and useless) and one of which seemed completely uninterested in being there.
One of the stoners was to be fair quite helpful with giving directions to places and recommending places to go, but you had to be willing to stand there during the long pauses and stoner-silences in the convo, and he was the one who put us in the wrong room and cause that whole inconvenience. The other guy, was totally useless.. directed us to the complete wrong place for the Van Gogh museum (messing up our timing for our rushed visit). Finally, a girl who worked at the front desk, although she seemed sober, was not very friendly, and not very willing to help.

Location. GREAT location! i could not ask for a better spot. Within walking distance to everything, but far enough away from the red light district and main centre to feel safe and not have noisy people outside at night time. This was really the saving grace for this hotel for us.


OVERALL:
great location. so-so staff. some good rooms, some absolutely crap rooms.

would recommend to people on a short trip wanting to do a lot of sightseeing and a quiet nights sleep.... (close enough to red light district for a wild one too and a stumble home).

GOODLUCK!

Room Tip: rooms on lower floors have better internet and just seem to generally be nicer.. avoid the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Nice location. The hotel is central, close to Amstel river and Rembrandt square. The room was quite small but clean. The breakfast is not included, you have to pay Eur 6 extra. The WiFi connection is not the best.
All in all, it was all right, even if I think it's a bit overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great hotel close to the centre of Amsterdam by the museum. Great service, attention to detail and cleanliness was good. Would recommend this hotel. The staff were attentive and extremely helpful. The staff were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Ok:
- very friendly girl at reception
- location, 15min walk to actual city center, 5min to walk to metro station, 1min to hermitage, 5min to IceBar, 1 min to main bridge
- kitchen on first fl.
Negative:
- No elevator!!!
- that was the most tiny room I ever stay
- overpriced

That place is ok to stay if You are 17-25. Enjoy Amsterdam!!

Room Tip: take any if you have no luggage, take closest to entrance if You have any heavy bag. Enjoy Amsterdam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 16, 1018 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Fantasia)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.