We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and tidy - reasonable price - not near city centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Hedon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very clean and tidy - reasonable price - not near city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with some mates for a few nights.
Rooms were all well equipped, modern, very clean and tidy.

Three of us sharing came to about £30 per person each night which is fairly reasonable - although location is no where near city centre- about 15 minutes train from central station, single ticket €3 approx.

I've stayed in slightly cheaper places in the city centre before but non of them were as well presented as this place.

Non smoking hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review!

We are happy to see that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    278
    67
    23
    18
See reviews for
152
66
51
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West was a pleasant surprise for us. We were a group of 5 and had a comfortable stay at the hotel. Except for an initial glitch which was immediately taken care of, we had a good time. Good Services at a decent rate!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger! Thank you for commenting, we hope to see you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights from Jul 17-19. We were a party of 2 adults and 2 children.

We chose this location based on air conditioning and free wifi.

The air conditioning worked well. It was record temperatures outside and we were cool and comfortable inside.

We were on the 5th floor by the elevators and the wifi worked pretty well.

The hotel is located a 5 min walk from Sloterdijk station. Sloterdijk is the major stop between the airport (Schipol - 10 mins away) and downtown / centrum (Amsterdam Centraal - 10 mins away). This was very convenient for us as we were in town for a short time and arrived and departed by plane. We got around primarily by train (to and from Centraal) and bought day passes. The trains came very frequently (sometimes every 1-2 mins) and were very fast. Sloterdijk is also a major tram hub so it would be very easy to get around by tram as well. The hotel is only 4 km from Centrum and rents bikes. If we weren't travelling w children we prob would have biked everywhere as there are tons of bike lanes and the terrain is very flat.

There are a lot of young people staying at this hotel and it is almost a hostel. I was a little worried about that (from a noise perspective) but it was fine. We didn't hear a thing in our room and slept well. There is a breakfast room downstairs with a guest kitchen. We didn't use either as our booking didn't include breakfast. The breakfast room converts to a bar in the evening and there are tons of young people hanging around. Certainly if you're 20 something this is a very happening place! Being 40 something and travelling with children we were a bit of an anomaly but we didn't mind.

Our room was streamlined and minimalist and clean. It was not large but had everything we needed in a compact space. There were 2 twins pushed together and 2 bunk beds. There were little nightstands each w reading lights and electrical outlets. There was a small desk. There was adequate floor space for luggage. There were little lockers for storing things. The beds were comfortable and we slept well.

Within our room there was a shower room w a large shower w an adjustable handheld shower head. There was tons of hot water and great water pressure and enough room to move around. Hair/body wash was provided. There was also a separate toilet room and between the shower and toilet rooms was a sink w a shelf for toiletries. There was also a nice hair dryer that worked well.

Overall we were very happy with our stay. The room is small but well-designed. The location is away from Centrum but it's very easy to get around.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It was the best hostel I've been in my trip around Europe. Tidy rooms, excellent staff and a perfect atmosphere. I will go back to this hostel for sure!

Only one station far from Amsterdam Central....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Room was spacious, clean, and very quiet. The staff were always around and very helpful. The hotel offered all sorts of tourist information. Hotel is situated right next door to Slotterdijk station making it very very easy to get to and from Amsterdam Centraal.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst backpacking round Europe. The location isn't perfect but a quick and relatively cheap train journey takes you straight to the heart of Amsterdam. The rooms were clean and well equipped and the beds comfortable. Cooking facilities and free wifi were both very useful and the staff were as helpful as they could have been. Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and hopefully see you again soon in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, HotelsNL, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Agoda and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.