We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resonable place to stay in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Waltham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Resonable place to stay in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I visited Amsterdam on my way home from a business trip and found it difficult to find a reasonably priced hotel. The Meininger was very well priced compared with other hotels. The hotel was very clean and decorated in a modern style. The room I had while very clean was very very small; ~ 6 feet by 20 feet. However, the room did have everything you would need and really how much time do you spend in the room during vacation.

The location of this hotel is very convenient just steps away from a major train station. It is just a few stops to central Amsterdam and a few stops direct to the airport. You do pay a bit for transportation but this is offset by the cost of the room.

A few watch out for this hotel.
1. This hotel very popular with school groups. The lobby was always a bit loud and busy but I did not find the guest floor to be loud.
2. There is not much activity around the hotel. There are a few places to eat in the train station (Starbucks, quick shop) but outside of that you need to take transportation into town.

Overall, a good reasonably place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JANWaltham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Budget hotel with additional hostel facilities such as dormitory rooms and laundry which I thought was brilliant. Rooms were large and modern as website pictures depict. Hotel was spotless. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Right next door to amsterdam west station. Very easy to commute to town centre as it is the next stop. Get a good nights sleep here. No traffic. I didn't stay for breakfast. Reception was manned 24hrs which is excellent.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the front of the hotel which I found quiet. The trains are out the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgtcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toni M, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I booked this hotel as part of a package through Chillisauce and was pleasantly surprised. It was very clean and tidy, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and it was only a short taxi or train ride to Dam Square. Perfect for what we needed it for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Good to see that you have enjoyed your stay here, thank you for your review!!

We have many other Meiningers around Europe, we will be happy to welcome you there in the future!

Warm regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My experience with Meininger Hotels have always been great. This hotel was very clean, very friendly and in a great location. When you leave the West Station, you take a right, and you cannot miss the big red M. This is good for people who want to actually sleep whilst in Amsterdam. You can get to the city center by train- 4 minutes time. Its perfect time. Not too far, but not too close.
The only warning: they say they have laundry facilties, but Its just one washer and one dryer- the dryer does not work. And for the washer, you have to pull out your clothing as soon as the timer goes off, otherwise it gets stuck in the washer. so be cautious!

Room Tip: Dorms are clean and manageable, for those that are a little worried about the dorm lifestyle- I say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger Amsterdam. We are currently on the look out for a new dryer so hopefully that problem will be fixed soon:)

We hope to welcome you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my football team and it was great. Excellent rooms & excellent service from staff. Great hostel to lay your head after a hard day in Amsterdam. Only 1 stop from Amsterdam Central station. Would stay again for sure!!!! Best hostel experience ever!!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott1566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for such a lovely comment!

We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hopefully see you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Meininger Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed in this modern and neat ho(s)tel with my elderly mother. We had two rooms. A single and a double, both with ensuites. The double room was spacious with double bed, couch, desk and chair. Everything was really clean and neat, and the bathroom was gorgeous with a shower that had great water pressure and seemingly endless hot water. The single room with ensuite is teeny tiny but awesome for just one person. Both rooms had effective climate control. The reception staff were friendly, funny, informative and professional. Lots of backpackers stay here but there was also a healthy dose of family, business and older solo travellers. There are 2 elevators, which means no lugging bags up stairs. The little extra you pay for breakfast is well worth it. A huge selection of fresh foods, hot and cold breakfast items, and beverages. Nothing lacked. Location is right next to the station. There's a semi shady walk through the car park to get there but it's very brief. Highly recommended this hotel for all visitors to this great city!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beeeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are really happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us that much and wish to welcome you here again in the future!

Warm regards from your Meininger Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed in this hostel for two nights. The room was very big with a shower and a seperate bathroom and we found our stay very enjoyable minus the staff. The staff within the hostel on reception were so snappy and rude compared to other Meininger hostels we have stayed in. I found asking opinions and questions of the staff was a struggle. We also paid for breakfast the next morning and the value for what we received was awful. There was no hot water, no juice, no fruit left over and it was truly a waste of money for bread and cheese.

I loved the hostel room and atmosphere of guests. I will never stay here again because the staff were so rude, When we complained we were given the excuse it was her first day and she couldnt understand our irish accent.

It was such a bad customer experience. I would not recommend it.

Room Tip: Try stay on the first floor or up as the bottom level can be noisy because of walking by traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kate993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for writing down your review here! We are very surprised to read about the bad experience that you had with our staff as they are usually very much appreciated and highly rated by our guests. As you were explained that you were dealing with a new staff member, we are pretty sure that the negative experience was a consequence of a missunderstanding and a language communication problem. We do however appreciate the feedback and will use this in the future!

We would kindly like to recommend you to come to our breakfast a little earlier next time. Most of the breakfast items will be taken off the buffet by 10:30 am. Our breakfast is available for 4 hours in the morning (06:30-10:30)

We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam after all and thank you again for your time!

Kind regards,

Meininger amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing