We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel with easy access to city centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hostel with easy access to city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

A great hostel with everything you need nearby. Tram service is brilliant and regularly running.

Great value for money, very clean rooms, friendly staff and not too far from the city centre. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    239
    61
    20
    13
See reviews for
130
58
43
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is nicely designed, good rooms and nice modern lobby. Kinda far from down town but on the bright side it's right next to Sloterdijk train station and bus station so transportation is easy.

WiFi was TERRIBLE almost no connection most of the time, which caused huge problems for me as I needed to finish important work online occasionally. The staff didn't really care about the bad internet service in the hotel and were not ready to help. We asked room service to change the towels, they took the dirty ones and didn't replace them with new ones!

Bottom line: It's not terrible but you can find something better for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weert, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We booked an adapted room 10 months in advance called 2 to confirm.
When arriving in the hotel no adapted room available, and put in a room
where you couldn't get in an wheelchair.
After complaining was told the room was given away because there was
no mention as the adapted room was neccasary.
Next morning another receptionst acknowligd they where wrong that in deed
they knew we needed the room.
And they would compensate us for the inconvenionce , we got half our money back.
Bad costumer service.

Only good thing was the breakfast.

Room Tip: Don't book this hotel, rooms are very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was better than I expected. I booked there after a previous booking got cancelled and I think it was a much better deal. I Used booking,com and it was no problem at all.

The room was very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly. All you can eat breakfast was E5.90 and filling. Station Sloterdijk is a short walk from the hotel and you can get access to the city, airport and other areas of the country very easily.

The only thing I would say is if internet access is important to you then arrange something ahead of time because the free wifi is not something to rely on.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We made a last minute change on Hostelworld to stay here 4 days before we went to Amsterdam; previous place we were going to stay in had had horrendous reviews in the last month. The Meininger is perfect for what we needed. We booked a dorm for 5 people with a en suite shower room and toilet. Room was really clean; only really used it to sleep there as it's located out of the city centre. Not difficult to get to though from city centre just make sure you catch a Sprinter train to Sloterdijk railway station. Hotel is just outside station.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BasRuis, Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hello,

Good to hear you had a nice stay with us.
hope to see you again in Amsterdam or welcome you in one of our other hotels.

kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Having this hotel 10 minutes from schiphol airport was hugely beneficial, especially when its also 5 Minutes from Amsterdam Centraal station. Its a real quirky hotel with excellent decor in the lobby which instantly attracts the eye. The staff were very helpful, speaking english very well. the only downside to the hotel rooms in general is there seems to be no sound proofing between rooms, we could hear every single word from the group next door to us. if you are traveling as a couple or a young family, i would strongly suggest asking to be placed away from the dorm rooms, as these sleep up too 10 people it can get quite loud

Room Tip: if you are traveling as a couple or a young family, i would strongly suggest asking to be placed awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The hotel is next to Amsterdam Slot Railway Station with trains to Central every few minutes, and a "Park and Ride" car park.
Rooms are modern, clean and functional with a good en-suite shower and (most importantly) excellent sound insulation. Good lifts.
Breakfast is a good continental buffet - excellent value at E5.90.
Good reception staff with easy check in.
Car Park is around E10 a day - however if you use Park and Ride at E8 24 hour return ticket - parking is only E1! We didn't discover this until we came back - but even at E10 its cheap parking for Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room #626 as an example - larger and two sides windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.