We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice and clean place to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Save Saved
You added MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“very nice and clean place to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Hotel was very nice and clean.
Very good location (1 bus or train to town. Takes around 15-20min to get there)
You won't find any pubs around if you like go out before sleep you have to travel by bus/train.
I tried to have few drinks downstairs but I was waiting with other travellers around 15-20min before someone came to the bar.

Room Tip: make sure you are having locker with you if you sharing a bedroom. It's hard to buy it around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    266
    64
    22
    17
See reviews for
143
62
48
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on an impromptu trip to Amsterdam.
Location is good- next to Sloterdijk station which is 10 mins from Schipol and 5 from Amsterdam Central on NS intercity.
Check in was very very slow. 2 people on the desk and not a huge influx of guests, yet I was waiting there for at least 10 minutes before being served.
I was in room 108. It was very warm and the temperature control did little. No furnishing to speak of, an uncomfortable bed and a thin and rough duvet.
Ensuite was odd. Huge space but decorated like a school toilet! Shower was a hole in the middle of the cold slippy tiled floor.
Overall I wouldnt recommend the hotel, yes it is cheap but even so, it isnt good value. To compare- it is considerably lower quality than a Travelodge, for a higher price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Very good place to stay in. Me and my mates went to Amsterdam to celebrate my mates bday last week. Fantastic connection via train to the city centre, very nice staff, friendly and kind.
Definitely would come back!
Recommended!

Room Tip: 525, brilliant view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is located very near to Slotterdijk Metro and Train Station (3 minutes walk), where easy to get train towards Amsterdam Centraal every a couple minutes. The surrounding atmosphere is quite comfortable and quiet. The room is simple and clean. The hotel staffs are always busy with visitors, so it is quite difficult to ask some helps. The internet connection is always going slow (stuck) after 8 pm. Generally, it is okay and enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I stayed here with my husband for 3 nights and we were both thoroughly impressed by the hotel. The train station is a 2 minute walk from the hotel - with regular direct trains to/from Schipol and Amsterdam Centraal. On arrival, the reception staff had no record of our reservation, however they found us a seat in the bar and offered us a drink while they fixed the problem. Our room was large and clean - spotless bathroom and washing areas and a great shower.

The 'all you can eat' self service breakfast is served until 10.30am so there was no need to set the alarm for an early start. The breakfast selection was varied selection which i thought was worth the price (approx 6 euros). We were on the top floor so our room was quiet - no footsteps overhead! The floors are wooden, so not sure if this would affect the noise in rooms on other levels.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly and the bar is a nice place to enjoy a drink after a busy days sightseeing.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again, not being in the centre of Amsterdam was no problem at all due to the regularity of trains into the city, and a journey time of no more than 10 minutes. We felt so comfortable in the hotel and would reccommend this hotel to others - whether you are a group of friends, a couple or a family.

Room Tip: Requesting a larger room may be a good idea, we had a great large room by chance, looking at some pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam.
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is located besides a train station and has a public parking also besides. Well located. The hotel is big, has a good structure and great service. They are flexible and friendly. Its also possible to take dogs, great for those who have. Breakfast is ok for the price. Wi-fi is good and works better in the lobby. I recommend this place to have a calm trip with good price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Easy and quick to get to and from the airport and Amsterdam central with trains running every 5 mins and the train station a 2 minute walk away. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and travelling with two young children, the kitchen area was ideal. Fantastic value for money and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, General Manager at MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam!
Your Meininger Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West

Address: Orlyplein 1-67, 1043 DR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and atmosphere of the hotelThe new MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West offers a very special atmosphere for your stay: people of all different ages and origins meet here in an unusually relaxed international atmosphere. They communicate with one another, relax, work or simply take a peaceful break. Opening July 2012.Unique aspects of the hotelWe have a breath of Amsterdam flair in store for you here, with distinctive art in the lobby. With a nod to the Old Masters, details from the great works of the golden age of painting are located throughout the hotel. The 232 comfortable non-smoker rooms offer an own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer as well as a television and air conditioning. The hotel boasts spacious public areas such as lobby, bar and guest kitchen, in which use of W-LAN is free of charge. Our lavish all-you-can-eat-and-drink breakfast buffet gives you the ideal start to your day and is available at a small extra fee. Cars can be parked in the hotel underground garage, also at a charge.Location of the hotel, surrounding area and sightsThe MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West lies in the corridor between city centre and Schiphol Airport, directly by the Sloterdijk transport hub. From here it is just a 5-minute ride with the urban railway to Centraal Station at the heart of the Old Town and ten minutes to Schiphol Airport, with Utrecht less than an hour away by train. Whether you want to travel round the canals, visit the Rijksmuseum, stroll through the flower market, have a stopover in a coffee shop or complete a business appointment, the Dutch metropolis receives its guests with welcoming openness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.